Blueberry Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
I made this cake for a 4th of July barbecue and it was great! It was really moist the first day and it seemed like it was even more moist 1-2 days later. I made this cake in a bundt pan and cooked it for 50 minutes. (I have noticed that the cake cooking times seem to be a little different here in Las Vegas) I did reduce the sugar to 1 1/2 cups and I added the juice from one lemon into the wet ingredients before I mixed in the dry. Other than that, I stuck to the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
I LOVE this cake!!! I had purchased fresh blueberries and wanted to do something great with them. The batter was pretty thick and I was a little worried about that, but it turned out perfectly! I followed the recipe to the letter and the cake that turned out of the pan was beautiful and tastes wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
This cake turned out perfectly! I used cherries instead as that was all I had on hand -- delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by leighsa40
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Excellent, family gobbled it up before it was even cool, a keeper, will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Fantastically delicious on my first attempt! Made two loaves instead of the ring and was glad I did. Easier to share with friends! Mostly gone in a day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Good recipe. I added extra blueberries and thank goodness I did. The cake seemed a little dry, maybe too much flour. I will cut back on that next time or add sour cream. I topped mine with a lemon glaze and the family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajzaanderson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I've made this cake a number of times and it never disappoints. It is rich and buttery with a yummy kick of fruit. The sugar sprinkled on initially lends a lovely crunchyness. I use mixed berries because I always have them on hand in the freezer and I reduce the 2 cups of white sugar to 1 3/4. As other reviewers have noted, the batter's really thick and will stick to your spreader, so after I've got it in the pan I wet my fingers and spread it around evenly. I find that it needs at least 75 minutes to cook through because it's quite dense. Finally, it freezes very well if you have any leftovers after a few days (which is unlikely!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
This cake is awesome. Will use non stick spray next time and only use the sugar in the very bottom center of the pan since it is what made my cake stick so badly but is definitely worth dealing with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WAcakebaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chimacum, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
OUTSTANDING,!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I was not happy with this recipe at all until I played with it. The batter was thick, heavy; more like a buckle than a pound cake. I didn't like it and wasn't even about to attempt to fold in the blueberries with it like that. I grabbed the milk from the fridge and just poured as I mixed it in, not measuring, until it looked like a nice, fluffy cake batter - I don't know, maybe 2/3 to 3/4 cup or so. I skipped the step of coating the blueberries with the flour, and just added that 1/4 cup of flour right away to the batter. I always found that step of dubious value anyway. The end result with the cake was terrific - but in my mind, only because I added the milk (or buttermilk, or sour cream, or whipping cream, or extra eggs) that it needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States