Blueberry Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
We used mulberries in this cake. We liked the sugary bottom and the flavour but found the cake to be a bit heavy-tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by letitsnow!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
I thought this cake turned out to be terribly bland. It was moist and the texture was very nice, but I really thought it lacked flavor. Maybe adding some cinnamon or even a bit of orange zest would help - but it definitely needs a little something extra. I don't think I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
This came out really nicely and everyone absolutely loved it. Next time I won't coat pan in sugar, though. I found that made it all a bit too sweet. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
i made this cake, it taste really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
wonderful recipe.....i used strawberries instead of blueberries and it turned out moist and very delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Findlay, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
This cake was fantastic!! I was a little worried at first because the batter was rather thick but it turned out soo moist. Instead of using butter to grease the pan, I used nonstick spray and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Bettis Anderson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayesville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
Very, very good. However mine turned out just the slightest bit dry. Taste was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
This cake is outstanding! I added extra blueberries. My family says they can smell the aroma in the hallway near the elevators. My co-workers ate half the cake within 15 minutes after setting it out. I took some my mother's, let just say, that I'm lucky to bring 1/2 slice home. I will definitely make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewel Williams-Rhodes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Oxon Hill, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
Terrific! I made this recipe for a Father's Day brunch and it was eaten entirely (and quickly!). My guests loved it (especially my mom who is a true pound cake lover). I used frozen unsweetened blueberries (fresh ones are not quite in season). I measured 2 heaping cups frozen berries and let them thaw and drain in a colander overnight in the fridge. I dredged them with flour before adding to the cake batter, as it says to do in the recipe instructions. The batter was thick, but it was not difficult to work with - - I don't think it needs added milk. Also, I buttered and sugared the pan, as directed, and the cake came out very easily. I'll definitely make this again. It's easier than the blueberry muffin recipe that I use and just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KANLAN
Reviewed: May 24, 2006
Yum, yum, YUMMY! My daughter wanted to make a blueberry cake for her cooking day. I haven't been successful in this department. This one was awesome! Very easy to make and very tasty! We enjoyed it with custard for our evening dessert. I used fresh frozen blueberries straight from the freezer, no thawing necessary. We also baked it in a 9x12 inch pan as I don't have a ring pan. I can't recall how long it baked on that temp but I think it was around 40-50 minutes. Awesome cake and will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KANLAN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States