Blueberry Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by kowalskibaby
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I baked this cake exactly as the directions described, and it turned out perfect! I was hesitant to butter and sugar the pan, but I went ahead and did it and I'm so glad that I did. The outside of this cake is a little crunchy from the sugar, and the entire cake is one of the best I've ever made. I combined powdered sugar and freshly squeezed lemon juice for a drizzle over the top. Definitely adding this one to my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I would have given the recipe 5 stars, but the cooling time was not accurate. I cooled mine for twice as long and it was still steaming hot so it fell apart when I turned it out, ending what would have been a beautiful blueberry cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
The taste of this recipe is DIVINE! The only thing I will note is that I had a REALLY hard time getting it out of the pan. I noticed that where the blueberries were touching the pan it made the cake very soft and it crumbled apart really easily when I tried to take it out. I think the next time I make it I will try to layer the batter and the bluberries to try and avoid that. Also, I made a simple sugar glaze to put over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
AWESOME recipe. It was just like I was hoping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
My neice made this 2 Thanksgivings ago. It was fabulous! I made this last year for Thanksgiving and everyone really loved it. I lost the recipe so I didn't get to cook it this year. But my favorite neice sent it to me in time for Christmas! This is sooo yummy. Can't wait to bake it. Thx Jo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Photo by kaitlinbeth
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Best cake ever!!! Made this for my mim's birthday and there was none left to take home. Will definately be making again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaitlinbeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Great recipe but it was written poorly! Suggestion for those watching their weight and/or looking for alternatives 1. Cut half the sugar or use all natural sugar (raw) or use splenda 2. Egg whites add 2 extra eggs (whites) to recipe 3. Unbleached wheat flour or cut half white flour and half whole wheat 4. Any fruit will do!! So will more vanilla, banana (flavoring too) as well as brown sugar halved with white for sweetness 5. No butter or shortening for pan, use canola/olive oil non stick spray
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Great recipe! The batter was very thick, but cake turned out fabulously! I used 4 cups of freshly picked (then frozen) blueberries. I also poured batter into a 9x13 cake pan as that's all I had. Still tastes great though! Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Killarney, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Just awesome!! I am asked to bring this to every party I attend. Moist and flavorful and the crust is FAB!!! I personally like it when it is cold but my guests prefer it room temperature. Really a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This was delicious! It was very moist! I was going to make a vanilla or lemon sauce to go with it but my husband didn't want to wait for me to make it. He says this recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States