Blueberry Pinwheels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
I made the dough in my bread machine (so much easier!). I used fresh blueberries and pressed them into the dough before rolling it up and had no issues with the blueberries falling out. I loved the lemon in this. I think next time I would increase the cinnamon filling, as it was barely noticeable. Thanks for sharing this recipe (that is now on TOH website), Betsy Stoner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Excellent dough. Would have given it a five star rating if blueberries had a stronger taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meeky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
I would not recommend putting these in the fridge over night to bake in the morning, with frozen blueberries, my first attempt resulted in a soggy mess of thawed blueberry juice on the bottom (A waste of Ingredients). My second attempt I used fresh blueberries, and they turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxxx

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
I am surprised these little bits of goodness don't have more reviews. I did make a couple of changes after reading all the reviews and by what I had on hand. First I used 8 oz 2% milk instead of evaporated milk(DS is allergic to all canned and powdered milk), used 1/2 bread flour, 1/2 Ap flour, and added a tsp almond extract. I doubled the filling(and am sure glad I did) and used frozen blueberries. the dough was light and very easy to work with. even though I used frozen berries they still fell out as I was cutting, and I didn't get to roll the dough tight enough. no worries any berries that fell out I just placed on top of the rolls gave an extra sprinkle of cinnamon sugar. added 3 oz cream cheese to the glaze. these little babies are great. I say little because if you cut them into 24 they are little and didn't require 20-25 mine were done 15-18 min. next time I will cut bigger. this recipe is as if a cinnamon roll and blueberry pie had babies!kids are already asking if I can make them to take camping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
These were delicious! I made up a glaze using sour cream, milk, butter and powdered sugar. I like these better than cinnamon rolls. They are even delicious warmed up the next day. I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Very nice. I admit to wanting a little more blueberry taste, but it makes sense there isn't an infusion of blueberries; the blueberries, after all, take the place of where raisins would normally be. This is rather easy, and makes a lot. I halved it so we wouldn't have a huge number of rolls that I didn't know what to do with. I kept the amount of sauce the same since bf is obsessed with "gooey" rolls, but it wasn't quite enough for him. I'll have to try a gooey-er sauce or something if I make them again. the dough was a tad sticky but easy enough to work with, and the rolls rose within 30 mins in a warm oven. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I tried this recipe today 1. Prep time is for mixing only, does not include rising time, add 3 hrs 2. 10 oz is 1 1/4 cups 3. Use brown sugar in filling as it is nicer. I also have a warming option in my oven so I used that to raise the dough, blind sight quicker then waiting hour and half. I did same thing on 2nd rise as well, but don't do what I did, I forgot to put a wet towel on them and the tops went a bit dry, but didn't really effect the finished product. I did get 24, but think will make them a bit larger next time and either do 18 or 12. Someone said to thaw the frozen berries before putting them in as it won't rise.....not so...mine rose fine with frozen berries an they didn't bleed all over, or fall out of the dough either. It made the dough easier to cut actually as they were not mushy. This is a nice alternative to cinnamon rolls, but think next time will double the filling....my personal choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cdnshaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
I was a little disappointed. It might as well have been made out of biscuit mix and not with yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
I'm showing 5 stars so I don't decrease the overall rating but I haven't tried these. I have a question before I start. I see some have made the rolls and put them in the the fridge overnight to bake the next morning. When you do that do you allow the rolls to rise until doubled before covering and putting in the fridge or do you put them in the fridge directly after cutting and placing in the pan? I really want to try these but I'd hate to go to all the work and ruin them before I even bake them and since I'm no early bird it would work out best if I could make them them night before. I'd love to hear your response!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States