Blueberry Pigs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I made 2 of these- turned out delicious! Mine hardly leaked out at all. I used my defrosted frozen blueberries from the garden this summer. I also used a little cornstarch in my sugar,cinnamon mix after reading the reviews (to prevent leaking) This is the second time I made these and no massive mess. The recipe for this crust is the same one I use for blueberry pies:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I made my own crust, since I was making pies, anyway. Maybe I rolled it too thin, because they burst open during cooking, it didn't make a lot of sauce, it was just solid berries sitting on an open crust, but it tasted nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
This was overall pretty good. It's a great idea. I loved the taste too. Mine completely fell apart in the oven though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
Family liked this a lot. I used purchase pie dough, however, so it was easier to roll, stretch, etc. If I make again, I may spread a layer of sweetened ricotta first, then overlay the blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irmo, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Delicious , just made this and it was yummy, also , quite simple to make, even for a beginner. I used half brown sugar and half white sugar , i prefer the taste , cooled it after baking, and it turned out ace!! thanks for the great recipe !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
I only had half the blueberries, so I used that and a can of tart cherry pie filling. The blueberries didn't fit into the first one (it was my first try with making pie dough, so maybe not thin enough?), so I wrapped 1 cup of blueberries in each dough and put the can of cherries on the bottom. My family loved it! Thanks, AKAJA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eatsREALfood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rogersville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I made this and a blueberry cobbler to use up a bunch of blueberries. It did the trick in terms of using up lots of blueberries but the pastry wasn't that great, I would use a different pastry next time and add some vanilla icing to the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cocktailqueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
So Yummy! Used a fork and pressed edges while rolling and did no leak. Also sprinkled some sugar on top. Going to make again for sure...except try with cherry or applel
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This recipe was easy and ingenious! Yes, a little tricky to roll, and mine un-seamed during baking (I think that I could have done that better on my end). I ate mine at room temp, once it had set a bit and was easier to eat. Perfect with some ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Rather than using store bought pie crust, I used crescent roll dough. It was great. I had crescents filled with blueberry goodness and everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Blueberry Clafoutis

See how to make a super quick-and-easy fruit dessert.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States