Blueberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
I also had issues with this being a runny disaster. It's still 4 stars because it tastes AWESOME, but we had to eat it more like a cobbler. I used fresh blueberries and 5 TBSP of cornstarch. Not sure what else could be done...it tastes wonderful though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYUOFM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by franneh
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
This was my first time baking a pie from scratch (including crust + lattice) and it was such a success! Followed this recipe to the tee and it turned out amazing. The crust was perfectly golden and flakey and the filling wasn't overly sweet. Will definitely be making this again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
Best. Pie. Ever. I made this using Grandma's secret pie crust from allrecipes.com, left out the butter, and did a regular crust on top. I will never consider buying blueberry pie out ever again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
I used 5 cups of blueberries, 3/4 cups of brown sugar, 5 tbsp of cornstarch, 1 tsp cinnamon and 1/4 tsp nutmeg. I used the hot water pie crust recipe from this site (decided to make the pie in the last minute). There is enough butter in the crust, so I skipped the butter on top f the fruit. I baked it for 15 minutes at 425, then for 35 minutes at 350. I left the pie in the oven to cool and refrigerated it overnight. Blueberries set so perfectly, there was absolutely no run off of any juice. I hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
Excellent! I used 4 1/2 tbsp of cornstarch and used a store-bought dough and it turned out excellent. Not too runny and not too rubber tasting. I cooked it at 400 and within 30 min I needed to cover the edges with foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Im making my 2nd pie now and keeping my fingers crossed that it isn't a runny mess this time. On my first attempt the pie was way too runny and the crust browned too quickly. This time I added an extra tablespoon of corn starch and a splash of lemon. I also reduced the oven to 375 and will keep baking it untilI i see it bubbling....it tasted fine but it was a disappointing mess. Hoping for the best now that I made some crucial adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
Very simple and delicious! I made this with blueberries we picked ourselves that day. I let the pie sit overnight to gel completely. I had a slice for breakfast and it was so delicious! I will make this one again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rafferty2009
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
Excellent pie. Add a bit more cornstarch or flour to make it stand nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
Just made this pie with fresh blueberries. Delicious! Wouldn't change a thing, except cooking time. I took mine out before the stated 50 minutes, so the crust wouldn't burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
The taste was good, but it was runny even with using 5 Tablespoons of cornstarch. I'll try a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 121-130 (of 997) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Blueberry Pie

Make a delicious fresh blueberry pie, complete with lattice crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States