Blueberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I made this yesterday with a few twists and it turned out awesome! Especially because it was my first ever completely scratch made pie! I followed everyone's recommendations and upped the cornstarch to 4 tbs and double the cinnamon too. I have always really enjoyed blueberries and dark chocolate together (why should strawberries have all the fun?) soI roughly chopped 4oz of 70% dark chocolate and folded it into the blueberry mixture. I let it sit overnight in the fridge after baking because the chocolate and blueberry juice looked like a hot soupy mess.Once, cooled, the chocolate helped hold all the filling together and the combination of the blueberry, cinnamon, and dark chocolate flavors was unexpectedly delicious and balanced! Give it a try sometime :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amelia Haynes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
This was amazing!!! I followed the recipe as it was written and it came out AMAZING. Some of the comments complained about it being watery and needing to add more cornstarch. I did not have this problem. I baked for exactly 50 minutes, I did wrap the outer crust in foil after 20 minutes to avoid burning. After removing from oven I let it sit out for about 4 hours. This may have helped it set. All of my guest devoured a piece and said it was one of the best blueberry pies they had ever had. I was sad we did not have left overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Biehl-Stowe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
As some others have commented, the pie was extremely runny. I used 4 tbsp. of corn starch and it didn't make a difference. Additionally the blueberries never opened up so all the sugar was in some syrup outside of the berries which made the "pie" (more like a cobbler) overall too sweet and the berries themselves not sweet at all. It seems like the correct way to make this would be to mash the berries first, and to boil off some of the liquid prior to filling the pie. Find another recipe or risk wasting 4 cups of blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I made this pie exactly as the directions called for. It was good but it wasn't sweet enough. I made another one & I added 1 cup of sugar & vanilla flavor. It was very good, especially with vanilla ice cream. I will definitely use this blueberry pie recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
This recipe was great! Could be the best pie I have ever made! A reql keeper-Barbara G
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Made this pie yesterday. It was the first time I've ever made a homemade blueberry pie. Recipe is perfect! All I did was do 4 heaping tablespoons of cornstarch instead of 3 level TBSP. Was not runny at ALL!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Lorfils

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
LOVES the flavors but even after following other peoples advise with 1C sugar and 5T cornstarch, my pie was SO RUNNY that it didn't hold up. Again, flavors were amazing though. I would make again with more flour and cornstarch though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajgillen
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Should have read reviews before making, like soup had to eat from a bowl .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by benjamin ledford
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Added 1/2 tbsp more sugar and little extra cinnamon. You will need to up the cornstarch by half, the recipe calls for too little. Overall very tasty and quick to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by benjamin ledford

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
For me this was one of those recipes that I will never forget. Due to the simple ingredients and the time it took to make the recipe. This was a simple recipe where I had everything in my refrigerator, and things I had in my pantry. When the pie came out of the oven it was so beautiful! I didn't wait till long before I found myself with a slice of this pie. I do recommend this recipe all who loves pie or just wants a bite of comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 961) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Blueberry Pie

Make a delicious fresh blueberry pie, complete with lattice crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States