Blueberry Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
My husband gives the pancakes 5 stars. They were easy to make and beautiful. Actual batter was pretty mellow. Flavor depended heavily on quality of blueberries and spices. Blueberries are in season! We really liked these cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
OK...I am done with looking for the perfect pancake recipe...because this is IT!!!! Wonderful!!! Those that posted a while back about them being a big mess...probably did not check the date on the baking powder as that makes all the difference. Use good fresh baking powder! I made a few changes to my taste. Used buttermilk instead of reg milk, (had to add extra to thin a little) Used Yummy Banana flavor yogurt (not plain) 1/4 t. vanilla, used melted butter (no oil) & and a dash salt. SO SO GOOD!! I think that many flavors of yogurt would work great too lemon, strawberry banana, vanilla etc.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
Delicious recipe! Original batter was on the thick side, but I prefer that since it's easier to thin than thicken. Didn't have plain yogurt, so I used vanilla low fat yogurt. I also substituted 1/2 cup of whole wheat flour for 1/2 cup of all purpose, used skim milk and 2 packets of Splenda for the sugar. Pancakes came out fluffy and light. Next time I think I'll increase the cinnamon to 1/4 tsp and beat the blue berries more so some of them break in the batter for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia Jaeger
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
I didn't have yogurt so I subsituted for sour cream. We like our pancakes on the thinner side so I added more milk and about a T more of oil. Also added salt. With my changes I'd give this recipe 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
AMAZING pancakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
I make pancakes for my family at least once a week. I tried this recipe to change up what I normally fix and they were perhaps the BEST pancakes we've ever eaten. My husband loved them so much he took the leftovers to work the next morning so he could brag to his co-workers. This is definitely a keeper for our family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
Let me start by saying I'm not a fan of pancakes and I made these at 5:30 am (I'm not a fan of doing that either!) for my boyfriend's birthday this morning. He is a fan of pancakes and he liked them. Didn't eat all of them (had 2 leftover, as I really didn't help him eat them--wasn't very hungry!) but he said they were good. I didn't have plain yogurt and did not want to sub strawberry, so I used sour cream instead. I also didn't have blueberries and used dried cranberries. I, too, did not bother separating and just dumped all ingredients in together. Worked fine. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
I'd say this is a great recipe - my only problem was they seem to burn rather quickly, so I had to watch closely. Otherwise they tasted excellent! I dropped about 1/4 cup of batter for each pancake and got 8 four-inch pancakes per batch. And lazy me, I used the "one-bowl" technique and just mixed everything together in one bowl - worked fine! Since I freeze pancakes, (quick, microwavable and a favorite meal of my 2 year old) I used this recipe as a base for two other flavors: omitted nutmeg and added 1/3 cup mini chocolate chips; and omitted nutmeg & doubled the cinnamon and added one grated apple. Can't pick a favorite! And I also can't wait to get my hands on some fresh Maine blueberries next summer! Thanks for sharing your wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
I have come across this recipe before, from a healthy eating website about 3 years ago, and I have to say, it is the BEST pancake recipe I have ever used! We sometimes mix in about a teaspoon blueberry jam if we have it in the house, and tend to have to add about an extra 2 tablespoons of milk to thin them out most times. I also always sift the flour, don't know if it makes a difference, but I am not about to stop doing it, as they come out absolutely perfect everytime! My family raves when I even mention I am thinking of making them for breakfast!There are 6 of us in the house, and I do have to at least double the recipe. MMMMMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Very good and easy to make! Why bother with 'pancake mixes' from the store? You can modify these in many ways. I upped the fiber content by adding in some wheat bran, which gave it a hearty texture. I used blueberry greek yogurt which was wonderful. Raspberries are also very good in these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

How to Make Blueberry Pancakes

There’s a better way to make blueberry pancakes. See how it's done!

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States