Blueberry Oatmeal Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
For the milk issue: Often in scone recipes the milk measurement is less of an exact measurement and more of a "you can use up to" 3/4 cup milk. You add milk until the dry ingredients just pull together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
Needs some revision--either less milk or more flour! They are rather dry. I made these with crisp peaches, and the peach flavor seemed "lost". As I've made these with honey and whole wheat flour instead of sugar and white flour, I've really liked these! I've been using fresh dewberries to replace the blueberries. I now know that this is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
I absolutely LOVE these scones. I must admit I cheated by giving the recipe to my mother and asked her to make it. She has made it several times for me and it is still my favorite breakfast food. Not too sweet and warmed up with a pat of butter makes it perfect with a cup of coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EILEENGB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
These are delicious. I made no significant revisions except to add just a few more fresh blueberries than a cup and flax seed meal, which I add to most of my baked goods. My husband raved about them, and he is not usually a fan of scones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
This is the recipe I run for when my blueberry bushes are ready for picking!! Made a few small modifications: Added a tsp of cinnimon and tbsp of vanilla, Sometimes I cut down the butter and replace with applesauce, and I have never had pecans in the house when I make these but sometimes I add blackberries. DELICIOUS!! I spoon them out onto a cookie sheet for bite sizes individual scones and they are wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
I took others advice and added milk just until the dough combined; it was less than 3/4 cup. I didn't have fresh or frozen berries so soaked some dry ones in warm water for 30 minutes. I was completely happy with the resulting scones. They were much more moist than I expected scones to be. My husband thought they were great. I wouldn't mind them with slightly less sugar but my husband disagreed - sweetness is entirely a matter of taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
The only thing I really found missing from this recipe was the salt! Add 1/4 to 1/2 teaspoon...it makes all the difference flavor wise. I find that I end up using 1/2 cup milk, tossing the rest. Also, I use dried blueberries (reconstituted a bit by soaking in warm water...they don't bleed into the dough like fresh berries!). Anyway, I was really surprised that such healthy scone could really taste "scone like". My husband used to always buy regular white flour blueberry scones where he works, but now he actually prefers these...and this is not a man who gives up white flour and sugar easily. So, if you're trying to switch to healthier foods, this is a good transition recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
These were my first scones. I thought these were awesome! I used quick oats because that's what I had, subbed brown sugar for white, used walnuts, added a little cinnamon and salt and used about less milk (1/2 Cup) per reviewers suggestions. I had them warm with a cup of coffee and yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by algerta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rock Stream, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amj1485
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I decreased the milk to about 1/2 cup, and probably could have used a little less. I also added a little cinnamon and sugar to the top. This recipe is delicious, and I would definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Love these! They are now my go-to scone recipe. I've made them exactly as indicated and they were marvelous. Am trying them with rhubarb now....Yum...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

How to Make Blueberry Pancakes

There’s a better way to make blueberry pancakes. See how it's done!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States