Blueberry Oatmeal Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
I've made this recipe twice. I discovered that I need more flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy
Home Town: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
It was good, but not quite what I was looking for in a scone. My family, on the other hand, inhaled them! Thanks Sarah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
Needs some revision--either less milk or more flour! They are rather dry. I made these with crisp peaches, and the peach flavor seemed "lost". As I've made these with honey and whole wheat flour instead of sugar and white flour, I've really liked these! I've been using fresh dewberries to replace the blueberries. I now know that this is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
I absolutely LOVE these scones. I must admit I cheated by giving the recipe to my mother and asked her to make it. She has made it several times for me and it is still my favorite breakfast food. Not too sweet and warmed up with a pat of butter makes it perfect with a cup of coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EILEENGB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I like this recipe. The scones are really tasty and the oatmeal just makes them so hearty and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
Tasty and healthy and a little different. I needed to add more flour before it could be rolled out. To add more berry yumm my daughter and i tweaked things a bit. We made a blob of dough with a crater and then added some preserves to the center and put more dough on top. She said is tasted better than Starbucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
These were okay. The dough was much stickier like a cookie dough so they ended up looking like cookies. They also seemed really dry to me. The flavor was good, but the presentation was misleading and made me wanting oatmeal cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by truemac
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
These scones are very hearty. I also found that there was too much milk. I would cut back to 1/4 cup if using blueberries, as they add some additional moisture. Not too sweet. Good and hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by truemac

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
These are delicious. I made no significant revisions except to add just a few more fresh blueberries than a cup and flax seed meal, which I add to most of my baked goods. My husband raved about them, and he is not usually a fan of scones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kitchen Witch
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
I found that if I used less milk as the other reviews stated, it worked out fine. I also folded in the blueberries being careful not to smash the fruit and my scones didn't have the blue hue as other comments stated. Scones are not the sweetest so I also added some preserves on the inside, and created an icing out of powdered sugar and milk to drizzle on the top after baking. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buena Park, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

How to Make Blueberry Pancakes

There’s a better way to make blueberry pancakes. See how it's done!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States