Blueberry Oatmeal Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
The first time I made these they weren't doughy enough but I put them in the over anyways to see what would come out. They came out like over sized cookies and my husband ended up absolutely LOVING them! He said they reminded him of strawberry rhubarb pie. I tweaked it a little bit - I added 1/3 brown sugar and used frozen strawberries instead of blueberries - they worked perfectly fine. My husband begs me to make this all the time now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alixchelsea

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Ayase, Kanagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
This is the recipe I run for when my blueberry bushes are ready for picking!! Made a few small modifications: Added a tsp of cinnimon and tbsp of vanilla, Sometimes I cut down the butter and replace with applesauce, and I have never had pecans in the house when I make these but sometimes I add blackberries. DELICIOUS!! I spoon them out onto a cookie sheet for bite sizes individual scones and they are wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
More sconey than many recipes I've tried... still looking for the perfect one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
These were good, I did make a couple changes. I used whole wheat pastry flour and I added a little bit of brown sugar. Also left out the pecans, and after the milk wash I sprinkled a little white sugar on top. I was kind of surprised but my boyfriend enjoyed them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Kitchen Witch
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
I found that if I used less milk as the other reviews stated, it worked out fine. I also folded in the blueberries being careful not to smash the fruit and my scones didn't have the blue hue as other comments stated. Scones are not the sweetest so I also added some preserves on the inside, and created an icing out of powdered sugar and milk to drizzle on the top after baking. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buena Park, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
These are delicious. I made no significant revisions except to add just a few more fresh blueberries than a cup and flax seed meal, which I add to most of my baked goods. My husband raved about them, and he is not usually a fan of scones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by truemac
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
These scones are very hearty. I also found that there was too much milk. I would cut back to 1/4 cup if using blueberries, as they add some additional moisture. Not too sweet. Good and hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by truemac

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
These were okay. The dough was much stickier like a cookie dough so they ended up looking like cookies. They also seemed really dry to me. The flavor was good, but the presentation was misleading and made me wanting oatmeal cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
Tasty and healthy and a little different. I needed to add more flour before it could be rolled out. To add more berry yumm my daughter and i tweaked things a bit. We made a blob of dough with a crater and then added some preserves to the center and put more dough on top. She said is tasted better than Starbucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I like this recipe. The scones are really tasty and the oatmeal just makes them so hearty and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

How to Make Blueberry Pancakes

There’s a better way to make blueberry pancakes. See how it's done!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States