Blueberry Oatmeal Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
These scones will not be dry if you substitute buttermilk for regular milk. Also, when it comes to adding liquid to scones you have to add it more gradually..............all flour is not the same. In other words use caution. Very very few recipes are perfect. For example, I live in Canada and if I use an recipe from the U.S. I have to use less flour.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amj1485
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I decreased the milk to about 1/2 cup, and probably could have used a little less. I also added a little cinnamon and sugar to the top. This recipe is delicious, and I would definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
These were my first scones. I thought these were awesome! I used quick oats because that's what I had, subbed brown sugar for white, used walnuts, added a little cinnamon and salt and used about less milk (1/2 Cup) per reviewers suggestions. I had them warm with a cup of coffee and yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by algerta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rock Stream, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I followed the less milk, more flour bit this time and the dough looks easier to mold! The first time I tried adding a pack of instant oatmeal for flavoring. The subtle maple flavor was amazing! Now I'm adding apple cinnamon, and it smells great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
The only thing I really found missing from this recipe was the salt! Add 1/4 to 1/2 teaspoon...it makes all the difference flavor wise. I find that I end up using 1/2 cup milk, tossing the rest. Also, I use dried blueberries (reconstituted a bit by soaking in warm water...they don't bleed into the dough like fresh berries!). Anyway, I was really surprised that such healthy scone could really taste "scone like". My husband used to always buy regular white flour blueberry scones where he works, but now he actually prefers these...and this is not a man who gives up white flour and sugar easily. So, if you're trying to switch to healthier foods, this is a good transition recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I liked these but did find them too dry. I also added more blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I also found this recipe required too much milk and needed something more, so I modified this recipe by reduced milk to 1/4 cup. I added 1/4 c. sour cream to the milk and wisked the two together. I still needed to add between 2-3 T. flour to the batter at the end to shape the dough into a ball and cut into 8ths. I omitted the nuts and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
There isn't much to the scones. I'm left wanting more flavor. I'd suggest cinnamon &/or brown sugar. The texture was fine for an oatmeal recipe, but I did not end up using all the milk like others. I think I'll try these again with more tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
this was a good recipe. I added 2 tbls of honey, a tsp of vanilla, cinnamon, nutmeg and a pinch a salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
I took others advice and added milk just until the dough combined; it was less than 3/4 cup. I didn't have fresh or frozen berries so soaked some dry ones in warm water for 30 minutes. I was completely happy with the resulting scones. They were much more moist than I expected scones to be. My husband thought they were great. I wouldn't mind them with slightly less sugar but my husband disagreed - sweetness is entirely a matter of taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Whole-Grain Blueberry Scones

Perfect for lunch or simply to let someone know they're loved!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States