Blueberry Oatmeal Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
These were my first scones. I thought these were awesome! I used quick oats because that's what I had, subbed brown sugar for white, used walnuts, added a little cinnamon and salt and used about less milk (1/2 Cup) per reviewers suggestions. I had them warm with a cup of coffee and yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by algerta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rock Stream, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I followed the less milk, more flour bit this time and the dough looks easier to mold! The first time I tried adding a pack of instant oatmeal for flavoring. The subtle maple flavor was amazing! Now I'm adding apple cinnamon, and it smells great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
The only thing I really found missing from this recipe was the salt! Add 1/4 to 1/2 teaspoon...it makes all the difference flavor wise. I find that I end up using 1/2 cup milk, tossing the rest. Also, I use dried blueberries (reconstituted a bit by soaking in warm water...they don't bleed into the dough like fresh berries!). Anyway, I was really surprised that such healthy scone could really taste "scone like". My husband used to always buy regular white flour blueberry scones where he works, but now he actually prefers these...and this is not a man who gives up white flour and sugar easily. So, if you're trying to switch to healthier foods, this is a good transition recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I liked these but did find them too dry. I also added more blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I also found this recipe required too much milk and needed something more, so I modified this recipe by reduced milk to 1/4 cup. I added 1/4 c. sour cream to the milk and wisked the two together. I still needed to add between 2-3 T. flour to the batter at the end to shape the dough into a ball and cut into 8ths. I omitted the nuts and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
There isn't much to the scones. I'm left wanting more flavor. I'd suggest cinnamon &/or brown sugar. The texture was fine for an oatmeal recipe, but I did not end up using all the milk like others. I think I'll try these again with more tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
this was a good recipe. I added 2 tbls of honey, a tsp of vanilla, cinnamon, nutmeg and a pinch a salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
I took others advice and added milk just until the dough combined; it was less than 3/4 cup. I didn't have fresh or frozen berries so soaked some dry ones in warm water for 30 minutes. I was completely happy with the resulting scones. They were much more moist than I expected scones to be. My husband thought they were great. I wouldn't mind them with slightly less sugar but my husband disagreed - sweetness is entirely a matter of taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
For the milk issue: Often in scone recipes the milk measurement is less of an exact measurement and more of a "you can use up to" 3/4 cup milk. You add milk until the dry ingredients just pull together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
These are not scones! We were so disappointed. They are far to like cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hannover, Niedersachsen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

How to Make Blueberry Pancakes

There’s a better way to make blueberry pancakes. See how it's done!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States