Blueberry Oatmeal Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
Made a few changes by adding 1/4 teaspoon of nutmeg, substituted brown sugar for the white sugar and used sliced almonds instead of pecans. If I'm in the mood for a little more sweet, I drizzle a lemon glaze on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
This is a great recipe. I have made it with both blueberries and blackberries and they have turned out great. I used buttermilk since I had it on hand and used just enough to moisten the dough. I did mine as drop biscuits using an ice cream scoop and flattening them. My kids loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Jakubowski Matteson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lowville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
These were great, could be a little sweeter on their own but with jam were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wyckoff, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Made recipe exactly as written up to cutting into 8 wedges. Because it was so "gummy" I put on lightly greased baking sheet in one large circle sprinkled with turbinado sugar, baked for 25 minutes, cut into wedges and moved apart on baking sheet and baked for another five minutes. They are quite good and will make them again either with less milk or the same way. I read the reviews after the fact when wondering what I had omitted or what had gone wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karen Fairley Loren
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
I've been looking for an oatmeal scone recipe for quite some time and I've now found it. Minor adjustments that I did included only using steel cut oats for a nuttier, crunchy flavour plus wholewheat flour and about 1/2 cup of milk until the dough came together. I also made eight separate scones and poked four holes into each. I then put fresh raspberries into these holes and dusted the scones with icing sugar once they cooled. Fabulous, reminds me of a scone that I used to get from a lovely cafe in Calgary. Next time I'll try with blueberries. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Fairley Loren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
They seemed to spread out too much. They were too much like a large cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
I added less sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Love these! They are now my go-to scone recipe. I've made them exactly as indicated and they were marvelous. Am trying them with rhubarb now....Yum...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
These tasted really really good. However, I had a hard time kneading the blueberries into the dough. I used the 3/4 cup of heavy cream instead of milk, and I didn't think it was too much liquid as some reviewers indicated. I topped them with maple cream and it was just perfect, the crunchy edges with the oats made them especially delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
These scones will not be dry if you substitute buttermilk for regular milk. Also, when it comes to adding liquid to scones you have to add it more gradually..............all flour is not the same. In other words use caution. Very very few recipes are perfect. For example, I live in Canada and if I use an recipe from the U.S. I have to use less flour.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Whole-Grain Blueberry Scones

Perfect for lunch or simply to let someone know they're loved!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States