Blueberry Oatmeal Chia Seed Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
This has become a favourite in our house of non-muffin-lovers. That said, I've healthed up the recipe substantially. To writ: no more sugar and cinnamon topping. Half the flour is spelt, half the oil is coconut, all the sugar is coconut sugar, and the applesauce is just grated apple. Yessiree, tasty goodness ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
What a fantastic muffin! I just bought a bag of chia seed at Costco and went on the internet to find recipes to use in them. I just made these muffins and they are great!. I did increase the flour to 1 1/2 cups, lowered the sugar to 3/4 cup as I was using homemade applesauce with sugar added. I also soaked the chia seeds in the orange juice as recommended. Thank you for your recipe. I will be making these often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FernAnn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Allegan, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I have made these a few times and found that this works best: 1. Add an extra cup of flour. I used regular flour once an oat flour once. Both were good. 2. Add an extra egg 3. Cut the sugar WAY down. I added none at all and while they tasted a little more "healthy" they were still sweet. 1/3 cup was a sweet muffin. 4. No need to soak the chia. If you feel you must, then you can make the batter as described and let it sit for 5-10 minutes. It will thicken up! I am pregnant and watching my carb intake but I LOVE bread so I have been experimenting. This makes a really healthy muffin! If you choose to use oatmeal + oatmeal flour (just grind some up) there are almost 4 grams of protein in each one of these (with the extra egg as well). I liked it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Be sure to Soak the Chia seeds in the OJ for 5-10 minutes to engage their nutritional fiber filled value! I upped the flour to 1 and 1/3 cup (whole wheat of course, the batter was too wet. and decrease the sugar to 3/4 a cup, looking to lower the sugar content and they are still sweet enough! and I skipped the brown sugar and just sprinkled ground Cinnamon on top! Voila! Awesome crowd pleaser :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I have to improvised the recipe as I didnt have apple sauce so I used 1 grated fresh apple and it came up soooooo good! I didn't use baking soda ( dont like the after taste) Lessen the sugar to 3/4 cup. You have the option to follow step #4, I didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Followed the recipe except that I let the chia seeds sit in the orange juice for about 15 mins. YUMMY!!!! I used 1.5 cups of blueberries bc that's all I had and it was perfect. My husband has eaten almost all of them already ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
First off, in order to get the health benefits of Chia seeds, they need to be soaked. The longer they soak the more health benefits you get. So I highly recommend adding the chia seeds to the orange juice and let it sit for at least 10 minutes or longer. While mixing the wet ingredients, I thought there was ALOT of liquid for only one cup of flour. But I went ahead and followed the recipe exactly. Triple checking the ingredients and amounts, as I really thought something was missing. It also seemed like way too many blueberries for the amount of batter. The muffins were really, really, really, moist, they didn't hold together too well and the blueberries are practically falling out of the bottom because there is no structure to the muffin. Looking back, I wish I added another 1/2 cup of flour, and used quick oats and less blueberries! If they did not have such a wet texture these would be 5 stars, they do have a great taste though, just did not like the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Yep, a perfect oatmeal muffin recipe! Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
This muffin is delicious! I substituted coconut oil for the cooking oil (because that's all I had) and they still turned out great. I love the texture of the chia seeds in these. Thank you so much for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by yazberry
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Moist, packed with secret healthy stuff, yet sweet and satisfying! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States