Blueberry Oat Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
This is the only waffle recipe I use for ANY waffles. I have made it exactly as the recipe states, but I have also substituted whole-wheat flour for the white flour, and substituted applesauce for the vegetable oil (leave in 1 Tbsp of oil + 1/4 cup applesauce). We have also substituted strawberries or a mix of berries. Just tonight, I added 1 tsp cinnamon and substituted about 2/3 of chopped apple. This recipe is excellent and versatile! I have come to figure out that this mix makes exactly 2 full waffles (2 rounds in the waffle iron). Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Holland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
I have made this twice now and the only changes I made was I used whole wheat flour for 1/2 of the flour and white all-purpose flour for the the remainder and I sifted it, plus I used walnuts because I was out of pecans. I also added about a 1/4 cup extra milk as I thought they were a bit thick the first time I made them. My twin 3 year old toddlers eat them without syrup or butter, I just cut a waffle up in a bowl with a banana and a glass of milk. Healthy, filling and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cecsgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Houston, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
I doubled this recipe to serve four. Before mixing the oats in with the dry ingredients, I ran them through my food processor for a finer consistancy. One of the BEST waffles we've had. The combination of the whole wheat flour, ground oats, pecans and blueberries was amazing. VERY filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Saritah
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
This was a GREAT waffle recipe. The only changes I made were adding another Tbsp of Brown Sugar and I added one well ripened banana, smashed into a goo. ;-) We slapped these in our waffle maker. it's round and the top lifts up. I put a half cup of batter and it was the perfect amount to make 3 waffles like this. Really Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saritah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
I thought these were okay. The kids did not like them, but they are picky eaters. I could have used more blueberries, or maybe mushed them up before adding to the batter so they were more spread out. I just thought the texture was a bit off - maybe its the oatmeal. I'm not sure - they were really dense feeling to me. I would make again for the baby for the fact that they are pretty healthy - I subbed the oil for applesauce as another reviewer suggested. She liked them and doesnt add anything on top of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Yummy and easy! I added a dash more (soy) milk. Kids loved these. Made a hearty "breakfast for dinner".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Very easy and quick! I substituted with wheat flour instead and it came out just as good, and very filling! Will make again for a weekend treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I enjoyed these waffles...I added a teaspoon of cinnamon but otherwise followed the recipe. I always have trouble with the berries sticking to the waffle iron though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
A...MAZ...ING! I absolutely loved these waffles. Changes I had to make: Buttermilk instead of milk (therefore I also omitted lemon juice), white sugar instead of brown (I was out of brown sugar!), increased frozen blueberries to 3/4 cup (I like more blueberries). The next time I make this I will double the recipe.... these went fast and my five year old ate hers without complaint. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
This waffle recipe is so yummy. put in only a third of the oil and replaced the other amount with apple sauce. so so yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States