Blueberry Oat Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
This is the only waffle recipe I use for ANY waffles. I have made it exactly as the recipe states, but I have also substituted whole-wheat flour for the white flour, and substituted applesauce for the vegetable oil (leave in 1 Tbsp of oil + 1/4 cup applesauce). We have also substituted strawberries or a mix of berries. Just tonight, I added 1 tsp cinnamon and substituted about 2/3 of chopped apple. This recipe is excellent and versatile! I have come to figure out that this mix makes exactly 2 full waffles (2 rounds in the waffle iron). Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Holland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
I have made this twice now and the only changes I made was I used whole wheat flour for 1/2 of the flour and white all-purpose flour for the the remainder and I sifted it, plus I used walnuts because I was out of pecans. I also added about a 1/4 cup extra milk as I thought they were a bit thick the first time I made them. My twin 3 year old toddlers eat them without syrup or butter, I just cut a waffle up in a bowl with a banana and a glass of milk. Healthy, filling and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S Roberts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Houston, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
I doubled this recipe to serve four. Before mixing the oats in with the dry ingredients, I ran them through my food processor for a finer consistancy. One of the BEST waffles we've had. The combination of the whole wheat flour, ground oats, pecans and blueberries was amazing. VERY filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Saritah
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
This was a GREAT waffle recipe. The only changes I made were adding another Tbsp of Brown Sugar and I added one well ripened banana, smashed into a goo. ;-) We slapped these in our waffle maker. it's round and the top lifts up. I put a half cup of batter and it was the perfect amount to make 3 waffles like this. Really Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saritah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
I thought these were okay. The kids did not like them, but they are picky eaters. I could have used more blueberries, or maybe mushed them up before adding to the batter so they were more spread out. I just thought the texture was a bit off - maybe its the oatmeal. I'm not sure - they were really dense feeling to me. I would make again for the baby for the fact that they are pretty healthy - I subbed the oil for applesauce as another reviewer suggested. She liked them and doesnt add anything on top of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Yummy and easy! I added a dash more (soy) milk. Kids loved these. Made a hearty "breakfast for dinner".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Very easy and quick! I substituted with wheat flour instead and it came out just as good, and very filling! Will make again for a weekend treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I enjoyed these waffles...I added a teaspoon of cinnamon but otherwise followed the recipe. I always have trouble with the berries sticking to the waffle iron though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
A...MAZ...ING! I absolutely loved these waffles. Changes I had to make: Buttermilk instead of milk (therefore I also omitted lemon juice), white sugar instead of brown (I was out of brown sugar!), increased frozen blueberries to 3/4 cup (I like more blueberries). The next time I make this I will double the recipe.... these went fast and my five year old ate hers without complaint. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
This waffle recipe is so yummy. put in only a third of the oil and replaced the other amount with apple sauce. so so yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States