Blueberry Oat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
Used less baking powder, substituted natural applesauce for oil, and added one teaspoon of vanilla, all as recommended. Biggest substitution was that I used serviceberries in place of blueberries as we have two serviceberry bushes full of ripe berries. The muffins turned out absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
These are amazing. I made a few healthy tweaks by using half whole wheat flour, old fashioned oats and coconut oil- completely amazing. Tender, toothsome, and delicious. I'll make them over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ford, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
The ultimate in blueberry muffins. At first, I was not sure about the addition of orange juice, but wow! These are the very best blueberry muffins that I have ever made. Everyone at work commented how great these were.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, California, USA
Living In: Canyon Country, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
I used 3/4 cup white flour and 3/4 cup whole wheat flour, and also substituted applesauce for the oil to make this recipe a little healthier. I also used frozen blueberries and old fashioned oats, because that's what I had on hand...but let me tell you, these muffins were UH-mazing! The brown sugar/cinnamon topping was like the icing on the cake. And the orange juice? Brilliant. It added just the right amount of sweetness. My 2-year-old and 10-month-old both gobbled these up, and I know the rest of my family will love them too. I will definitely be making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
I thought these muffins were delicious. Not too sweet, just perfect. The only change was I added an egg and about 1/3 cup of vanilla almond milk just for some moisture. I also added cinnamon to the dry ingredients. The muffins rose beautifully and were ready in exactly 18 minutes, As for the oats, i couldn't really tell they were in the muffin. I will definitely make them again! Probably a double batch and freeze some!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Very delicious after adding additional liquid for moisture. I added about a 1/4 cup of milk and they were perfect for my taste. It should be lumpy but definitely moist and sticky. Unless you do want a scone, which is what this recipe will make without the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia V-C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
I just tried this recipe this morning to make for my boyfriend and some work colleagues. Needless to say, they very much enjoyed them. The citrus taste is very light, so if you want a more intense taste, I'd suggest adding some zest too. Most of the sweetness is in the topping and blueberries, also, so a sugar addition may be needed. Next time I make them, I might add more oats too. They were there, but I'm not sure if they were as prominent as I wanted. I was a little concerned because I accidentally used the wrong amount of baking powder and had to attempt to scoop some out of the bowl, but they were anything but ruined. I added some more orange juice to the batter before adding the blueberries to make the batter thinner -- it is extremely thick. I doubled the recipe, so I'm not sure if that had something to do with it. Otherwise, these are very tasty muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
After mixing everything except the blueberries, the mix was very stiff and dry. I'm new at this so was a little perplexed and panicky. I added a little more OJ, then the bberries. The muffins turned out OK - tasty , but I only got 11 and most are small-ish, not "large' as some reviews say. Any suggestions would be welcome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly the first time......and the resulting muffins were too oily and not sweet enough for my taste. Next time I doubled the Amount of blueberries, and cut the oil down to 1/4 cup, and added a couple tbsp of applesauce to compensate. Result: moist muffins with flavor, not oily taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Good base recipe. After looking at other suggestions, I replaced the oil with applesauce, used whole wheat flour, added 1/2 cup Stevia in the Raw. Substituted 3/4 tsp baking powder, added in 1 tsp cinnamon, 1 tsp nutmeg and a sprinkle of cloves into the batter. Also added 1/3-1/2 cup of cranberries in addition to the blueberries. Very moist and satisfying. Works out to 3 points per muffin on WW point system.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States