Blueberry Nut Oat Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
I've always feared egg substitute, but these muffins turned out delicious, i used oat bran cereal i hope that was what i was supposed to use
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EROCK101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
I changed the recipe around a bit and they had a great flavor. Even my pickier friends said they were fabulous! Instead of oat bran, I used 3/4 cup rolled oats and 3/4 cup wheat flour, and for egg substitute I mashed up half a banana. I also didn't put anything on top and I took out the nuts. The texture was a little dense, but they still tasted light. An excellent vegan recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheffie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
These were of course a little bit different texture than store bought because they don't have all the white flour and white sugar, but they are still tasty and so nutritious, it's great that they have so much oatbran, the combination of that and the fruit gives them lots of fibre and vitamins. I followed the recipe exactly and got a fairly stiff batter which made 16 muffins using the large size muffin liners. We also made another batch substituting 1-1/8 cups of mashed banana instead of the applesauce (make sure you measure it took 4 large bananas) and we added chocolate chips instead of the blueberries and believe it or not they were even better, I know that the chocolate chips are not as healthy as the blueberries but if the kids like them, they still have lots of fruit and fibre from the oatbran and banana so I feel they are still a pretty nutritious snack. We will definitely make them again maybe even try almond extract with fresh cherries and shaved almonds, these muffins make a nice breakfast treat especially good if you are rushed because they can be eaten on the go, just bring along a milk box or a coffee and you're all set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
We really enjoyed these muffins! My kids liked the cakelike ones I made better but I thought these were very yummy. We used wheat bran instead of oat and skipped the granola topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
In the words of Rachel Ray, "YUMMO!!" I used 2 real eggs as suggested by another reviewer & I made them in jumbo muffin tins. They are not as heavy as I expected them to be. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
These muffins surprised everyone I served them to. They're great!! Healthy and deliscious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunFlower
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
They were amazing. Probably the best bran muffins I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
These were delicious! I used half whole-wheat flour, a little more applesauce than called for, and only 1 egg and mashed a banana for more moisture. They turned out great! Next time I'm going to try dried cherries, slivered almonds, and almond extract as another reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally S.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
I thought these sounded very good, but I decided to make a few changes. I substituted 1/2 the flour for whole wheat flour and added a little more applesauce. I used 2 whole eggs instead of egg substitute, added some lemon zest and a little of the juice as well. I also left off the granola but sprinkled just a touch of brown sugar on top. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
We didn't have the egg substitute so used one egg instead. Sprinkled a bit of brown sugar on top as we were out of granola and used whole wheat flour instead of white. We also didn't have any pecans. These muffins are GREAT! My three boys were disappointed that I had cut the recipe in half and only made 6 .. next time I'll know to make the full 12!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States