Blueberry Nut Oat Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
These were of course a little bit different texture than store bought because they don't have all the white flour and white sugar, but they are still tasty and so nutritious, it's great that they have so much oatbran, the combination of that and the fruit gives them lots of fibre and vitamins. I followed the recipe exactly and got a fairly stiff batter which made 16 muffins using the large size muffin liners. We also made another batch substituting 1-1/8 cups of mashed banana instead of the applesauce (make sure you measure it took 4 large bananas) and we added chocolate chips instead of the blueberries and believe it or not they were even better, I know that the chocolate chips are not as healthy as the blueberries but if the kids like them, they still have lots of fruit and fibre from the oatbran and banana so I feel they are still a pretty nutritious snack. We will definitely make them again maybe even try almond extract with fresh cherries and shaved almonds, these muffins make a nice breakfast treat especially good if you are rushed because they can be eaten on the go, just bring along a milk box or a coffee and you're all set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
I used this recipe to make a bread, rather than muffins. I made a few changes: I substituted mashed banana for applesauce, used 2 real eggs instead of substitute, and sprinkled whole oats on top rather than granola. Baked for 50-60 minutes at 200C/395F, it turned out great -- nice and moist. I think next time I might mix in walnuts with the pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
I wanted to try these because they seemed pretty low in fat and have a decent amount of fiber, but I was worried about how they would taste. They turned out very moist and have good flavor. I used 1 1/2 cups of applesauce and didn't have blueberries so I substituted dried cranberries. I think blueberries or raspberries would really make these better. Also, I found that 18 minutes was too long to bake, try 15 minutes instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Oh my goodness! These are absolutely fantastic - even my picky husband has devoured them! I doubled the recipe and got 30 muffins, not 24. I also substituted whole wheat flour, and sprinkled just a little brown sugar on top instead of the granola. Wow! Even a few days later, these muffins are just as moist, tasty and melt-in-your-mouth as when they were first baked. We froze the majority of them to have a quick breakfast on hand. Just defrost overnight in the fridge, and throw them in your toaster oven or mircrowave in the morning. Definitely beats skipping breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stareynoso

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
I have made this recipe quite a few times but have amended the original slightly, following the advice of previous reviewers. I used no oil and substituted with 1½ cups of apple or banana (I have used both), rolled oats instead of oat bran (next time I will use only one cup because they do have an oaty flavour which I would like to reduce slightly), two eggs, wholewheat flour. I added more cinnamon and also a touch of nutmeg and ginger and didn't use any nuts. This time I used frozen raspberries and bluberries and they were lovely! They taste healthy and of course they are not as light as fatty versions, but they taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
I have made these muffins twice. The first time I used unsweetened apple sauce and the second time I used sweetened. Also, the second time I increased the amount from 1 1/8 cup to 1 1/2 cup. This made a huge difference. The second batch was so much better. They were delicious actually.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
I changed the recipe around a bit and they had a great flavor. Even my pickier friends said they were fabulous! Instead of oat bran, I used 3/4 cup rolled oats and 3/4 cup wheat flour, and for egg substitute I mashed up half a banana. I also didn't put anything on top and I took out the nuts. The texture was a little dense, but they still tasted light. An excellent vegan recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheffie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
These were very good - I followed a few suggestions and made the following changes though: half white flour, half whole wheat; two real eggs instead of egg substitute; and added one mashed banana. I don't have a food scale and had some difficulty figuring out the amount of chopped pecans it called for. I put in half a cup, and I think it could stand to have even more added. The two year old and the thirty year old both devoured them though, nice and moist, not too sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Queen Llemon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
I thought these sounded very good, but I decided to make a few changes. I substituted 1/2 the flour for whole wheat flour and added a little more applesauce. I used 2 whole eggs instead of egg substitute, added some lemon zest and a little of the juice as well. I also left off the granola but sprinkled just a touch of brown sugar on top. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
We didn't have the egg substitute so used one egg instead. Sprinkled a bit of brown sugar on top as we were out of granola and used whole wheat flour instead of white. We also didn't have any pecans. These muffins are GREAT! My three boys were disappointed that I had cut the recipe in half and only made 6 .. next time I'll know to make the full 12!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States