Blueberry Nut Oat Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2004
This has become a favorite recipe. Makes a surprisingly light muffin with a great crumbly texture and it warms up well in the microwave without becoming plastic-y. I have changed my version slightly to include 1/4 c. chopped walnuts (for the pecans) and skipped the granola topping. (And a few extra blueberries doesn't hurt it at all.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
I've always feared egg substitute, but these muffins turned out delicious, i used oat bran cereal i hope that was what i was supposed to use
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EROCK101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
These were of course a little bit different texture than store bought because they don't have all the white flour and white sugar, but they are still tasty and so nutritious, it's great that they have so much oatbran, the combination of that and the fruit gives them lots of fibre and vitamins. I followed the recipe exactly and got a fairly stiff batter which made 16 muffins using the large size muffin liners. We also made another batch substituting 1-1/8 cups of mashed banana instead of the applesauce (make sure you measure it took 4 large bananas) and we added chocolate chips instead of the blueberries and believe it or not they were even better, I know that the chocolate chips are not as healthy as the blueberries but if the kids like them, they still have lots of fruit and fibre from the oatbran and banana so I feel they are still a pretty nutritious snack. We will definitely make them again maybe even try almond extract with fresh cherries and shaved almonds, these muffins make a nice breakfast treat especially good if you are rushed because they can be eaten on the go, just bring along a milk box or a coffee and you're all set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
These were pretty good! Rose nicely, good texture. I used real eggs and walnuts. Didn't really need the topping. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
We really enjoyed these muffins! My kids liked the cakelike ones I made better but I thought these were very yummy. We used wheat bran instead of oat and skipped the granola topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
I used this recipe to make a bread, rather than muffins. I made a few changes: I substituted mashed banana for applesauce, used 2 real eggs instead of substitute, and sprinkled whole oats on top rather than granola. Baked for 50-60 minutes at 200C/395F, it turned out great -- nice and moist. I think next time I might mix in walnuts with the pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
These muffins surprised everyone I served them to. They're great!! Healthy and deliscious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
In the words of Rachel Ray, "YUMMO!!" I used 2 real eggs as suggested by another reviewer & I made them in jumbo muffin tins. They are not as heavy as I expected them to be. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
I changed the recipe around a bit and they had a great flavor. Even my pickier friends said they were fabulous! Instead of oat bran, I used 3/4 cup rolled oats and 3/4 cup wheat flour, and for egg substitute I mashed up half a banana. I also didn't put anything on top and I took out the nuts. The texture was a little dense, but they still tasted light. An excellent vegan recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheffie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunFlower
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
They were amazing. Probably the best bran muffins I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium

Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States