Blueberry Nut Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Valerie Ulloa Nickerson
Reviewed: May 7, 2010
Just made these muffins again but added 1 more tablespoon of sugar to batter which added a hint more sweetness overall. If you like a sweeter tasting muffin than go ahead and add 2 tablespoons. Beware of adding too much sugar, you don't want batter to compete with natural sweetness of the berry itself.I used frozen berries which worked out well as a sub for fresh grown if not in season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful
Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
GREAT breakfast muffin! Not too sweet, just as the description claims. It tasted more like a biscuit than a muffin. I took the advice of the submitter and sprinkled sugar on top before baking. I didn't feel there were enough blueberries in the batter so I added an extra handful. The walnuts really add a nice flavor and texture to it. I am giving this 4 stars because I feel it needed the extra blueberries. Thank you Mrs N for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
came out so good! i made them with frozen berry medley and added an extra tbs of sugar to berries before folding them in
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Would have given it 5 stars, but the other review is right--it definitely needs more sugar. I don't even like sweet batters, but it tastes a bit bland. Overall though, a very good muffin recipe. I did 1/2 c. of whole wheat flour and 1/2 c. of white flour and added 1/2 c. rolled oats to make it healthier, and it didn't seem to dry out the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
In response to your questions, first I think this type of muffin would have a more cake like texture and you certainly can & should eat them as a snack or at breakfast in place of toast or whatever type of grain you may eat for breakfast. Hope this helps as they do sound tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Legend
Home Town: Birmingham, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
don't make it. It tasted weird and the muffins all stuck to their liners. T.T
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarcookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jamie
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
I subbed the oil for applesauce at a 1:1 ratio to be a bit lower calorie and healthier. These are yummy muffins but a little bit boring.. they are very simple and easy but next time I might experiment with some cinnamon or some brown sugar crumbled on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2015
I added some cinnamon (eyeballed), ginger (eyeballed), nutmeg (also eyeballed), 2 more tbsp sugar, used only 1/2 cup regular flour and added 1/2 cup whole wheat flour and 1/2 cup oats. I didn't have any muffin cups on hand, so I baked it in two small loaf pans, adding about 10 min to the baking time. SO GOOD. Holy tastebuds, Batman.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bleech

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Beaver, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by reena61384
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
5 stars because it is a very easy recipe to do and remember. Also because it provided exactly 12 very nice muffins. Thank you Valerie Ulloa Nickerson for this recipe! I agree with some some of the reviews. I used 4 TBS of sugar without leveling the measuring spoon, and as directed 4 TSP of baking powder, with leveing the measuring spoon. I used fresh blueberries, probably more than suggested and chopped walnuts, probably less than suggested. I had a lemon and put some lemon peel on the top of each muffin before baking, as well as sifted some brown sugar on the top of each one. I do not like very sweet muffins but I do suggest adding that extra TBS and more if you like it sweet, particularly because the sweetness will counter the bitterness in most blueberries (and lemon peel in my case).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States