Blueberry Monkey Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2000
This was a disaster! The biscuits and blueberries flooded all over the place. It turned out too gooey and soggy. Any way to fix this?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
Took this to work and got rave reviews. Made in a bundt pan and the only change I made was that I used 3 cans of buttermilk biscuit dough instead of 4 (rose just the right height and did not make a mess all over my stove)and used fresh blueberries instead of frozen. Thanks Eleanor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2002
An interesting twist to regular monkey bread. The batches that I made for my dorm floor were gone in a few hours. Very good with raspberries too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
This breakfast sweet was a hit at all the brunches I've brought it to. It's a little labor intensive to roll all the biscuits in cinnamon and sugar, but it's well worth the time. I have also substituted strawberries, raspberries,blackberries, and peaches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2003
Mmmm, delicious! THis takes me back to when I was young and we'd get stickybuns for 75 cents... I didn't have canned biscuits, so I used 2 packages of "bisquick complete cinnamon swirl" biscuits and made a 1/2 recipe in a 8X8 square pan. cooking time was closer to 45-50 mins, and I used raisins instead of blueberries. Also, I just dumped the extra couple of Tbsp sugar/cinnamon mixture from rolling the dough in into the syrup, so it is thicker & less gooey. One thing I need to stress is that you should invert this over a cake plate immediately! If you wait for it to cool, it won't want to come out due to the syrup hardening. This would be amazing with chopped walnuts as well. I would layer them under the dough so that when the syrup goes through to the bottom and you invert it, therewould be a caramely walnutty topping. YUmmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
This got rave reviews at my office. Here's what I did: I used 2 cans (12oz each) of the biscuits. All other quantities werre the same. I compiled it the night before and popped it in the oven in the morning so it would be hot to take to work. I only used half of the sauce (other reviewers said there was too much sauce), but due to the overnight refrigeration, I could have used more. It wasn't as gooey as others described when I baked it, but more moist with blueberry sauce. Was great and can be modified to fit almost any taste. Could also use frozen rolls and compile it the night before - just stick it in a cold oven overnight, and turn the oven on when you get up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
This was fantastic! I stuck loosely to the recipe, using just 2 jumbo buttermilk tube biscuits, (accidentally) adding about 1 or 2 tablespoons of vanilla, using 1 quart-sized ziplock bag of blueberries for the entire recipe, and using the remaining sugar/cinnamon mixture that I rolled the biscuits in for the sugar/cinnamon/butter mix that I boiled on the stove. Even with these adjustments, it came out great. We didin't even wait for it to cool before we all dug in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2000
This is a wonderful recipe the whole family will enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
I only used 2 tubes of biscuits and ended up making extra sauce because I thought the finished product was too dry; maybe I boiled the sauce too long because I was doing other things at the same time. It was good and some people had "seconds and thirds". Suggest using margarine as directed because using real butter gave it more of a 'butter' flavor. than 'blueberry'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
WOW! THIS IS ONE GARDEN OF A DISH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Islamabad, Islamabad Capital Territory, Pakistan
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States