Blueberry Monkey Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
WOW! THIS IS ONE GARDEN OF A DISH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Islamabad, Islamabad Capital Territory, Pakistan
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
This got rave reviews at my office. Here's what I did: I used 2 cans (12oz each) of the biscuits. All other quantities werre the same. I compiled it the night before and popped it in the oven in the morning so it would be hot to take to work. I only used half of the sauce (other reviewers said there was too much sauce), but due to the overnight refrigeration, I could have used more. It wasn't as gooey as others described when I baked it, but more moist with blueberry sauce. Was great and can be modified to fit almost any taste. Could also use frozen rolls and compile it the night before - just stick it in a cold oven overnight, and turn the oven on when you get up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2003
My husband is sometimes picky when I try new recipes but he practically ate the whole thing himself!! Must use a one-piece tube pan otherwise sauce will leak out of traditional angel food cake pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2003
Mmmm, delicious! THis takes me back to when I was young and we'd get stickybuns for 75 cents... I didn't have canned biscuits, so I used 2 packages of "bisquick complete cinnamon swirl" biscuits and made a 1/2 recipe in a 8X8 square pan. cooking time was closer to 45-50 mins, and I used raisins instead of blueberries. Also, I just dumped the extra couple of Tbsp sugar/cinnamon mixture from rolling the dough in into the syrup, so it is thicker & less gooey. One thing I need to stress is that you should invert this over a cake plate immediately! If you wait for it to cool, it won't want to come out due to the syrup hardening. This would be amazing with chopped walnuts as well. I would layer them under the dough so that when the syrup goes through to the bottom and you invert it, therewould be a caramely walnutty topping. YUmmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2003
I had to change this a little to use what I had on hand-- mainly, I put it into two pie plates since I don't own a tube pan. The outer edges got done faster than the middle, so I put foil over the edges until the middle was done. I also used two 16oz tubes of biscuits since that's what I had available, and they were enough to fill the two pie pans. I liked this recipe for something different, but I'm not sure I'd make it again-- I think I prefer to use my blueberries in cobblers or muffins instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2003
This is extremely tasty. I can't walk by it without grabbing a piece even after I've had my fill. One thing I've noted since cooking it twice...there are too many biscuits. It has twice smelled up my house with burning blueberry goo and forced me to clean my oven(not a bad thing) from overflowing wonderful tasting blue goo. The cake is worth it however! Try using 3 cans of biscuits. If not for the mess, I would definitely give it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2002
An interesting twist to regular monkey bread. The batches that I made for my dorm floor were gone in a few hours. Very good with raspberries too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2000
This is a wonderful recipe the whole family will enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2000
This was a disaster! The biscuits and blueberries flooded all over the place. It turned out too gooey and soggy. Any way to fix this?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-29 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Blueberry Zucchini Bread

Blueberries and zucchini are married perfectly in these summertime loaves!

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States