Blueberry Lemon Walnut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
A good bread. A little dense but with good lemon flavor. I used dried lemon zest and skipped the glaze, since the bread would not be served immediately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Very good, moist bread, despite the reduced amount of fat compared to other breads. I did not use the walnuts because my kids didn't want nuts in the bread. I poked little holes in the bread while warm and then added the glaze, which helps keep the bread moist and full of lemon flavor. I also used lemon extract instead of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This is a surprisingly good quick bread, easy to make and disappears like a magic trick, very healthy to boot. It's ALL good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This bread was pretty good however, I feel that it was missing a little something. I realized that it tasted awesome when you got a bite with the glaze on it. I'm thinking with a tad more sugar and lemon in the bread this would be a 5 star recipe in my opinion. I am willing to try though. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Grand Island, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I used cranberries instead of blueberries and it was great! Got a little hard during the baking, but after I took it out, I wrapped it in foil and that made it moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by busymom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingsland, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Delicious! I used fresh blueberries. I also served with a blueberry sauce: 1/4 cup blueberries, 1 tbsp lemon juice, 3 tbsp water, 2 tbsp sugar. Let it simmer for 15 minutes until it thickens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Curly Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
I've made a few loaves from this website, and this was the best one so far! It baked up nice and tall in a well-preheated oven after only 45 minutes, so watch yours carefully. The glaze added nice lemon flavor, and the loaf was moist enough. I used frozen blueberries, and the 2 eggs were large sized. I did make a few minor changes: I didn't bother roasting the walnuts, and I substituted plain yogurt for buttermilk. I omitted the vanilla extract (I always leave that out when baking). It is delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
I agree that this is a good, moist bread. The only issue I had was with the glaze. I cooked it for a while on low heat, but it never boiled down properly. I added some icing sugar and it worked great. It's a lot easier to make a runny lemon icing rather then cooking sugar in a saucepan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
A little dry. Maybe I made it wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I made this recipe into muffins (got 18 small/med sized muffins). The flavor of these was great and they were very moist. I found them to be extremely sweet and I did not use the glaze, and I have a massive sweet tooth. I will make these again but cut the sugar down. Thanks for the recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States