Blueberry-Lemon Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Made this for a dinner party and it turned out great! Only modifications I made were adding a teaspoon of real vanilla, zesting two lemons and using their juice nd adding a teaspoon of lemon extract. I still thought it could have used a little more lemon punch, so next time I'll probably zest and juice a third lemon. But great recipe, and perfect year-round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica A.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
This recipe reminds me of one my great grandmother made when I was very young. It is a nice heavy, moist, and flavorful pound cake. Very rich, and very tasty. I added a bit of the seeds from the vanilla bean, which intensified the flavors. Wonderful recipe - thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
This was beyond refreshing. Used hints from others and coated blueberries with flour so they wouldn't sink. I also used lemon juice instead of lemon extract, probably adding half again as much as called for in the recipe. The cake took 15-20 minutes longer to cook than the recipe says. This was a perfect cake for paring with a lemon cream sauce pasta and dry champagne for a special, elegant occasion. We skipped a glaze and covered the cake slices with homemade whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rock Island, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
This cake was DELICIOUS! I baked it in a regular bundt pan with no problem. After it cooled I poured a glaze on it as well made of confectioner's sugar, lemon zest, and enough milk to give it the right consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
I read some of the comments and adjusted the recipe accordingly. Adding extra lemon to the batter and increasing the baking time helped make a wonderful cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
I'm rating this in the middle until I can remake the recipe. First off, the recipe batter is DELICIOUS. Problem is that the amount far exceeded my 10" pan...and I should have known better and split the batter between 2 pans, but I was in a rush and now I've got smoke alarms going off in my house! Most of the batter oozed on the oven floor and I'm running around venting the house. Also, because there is a higher-than-normal amount of sugar in this recipe, the top browned much quicker than in other cake recipes. I would give this 5 stars (as I was eating the batter!) for potential...but will have to try it again and make two cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Good flavor, but came out greasy and undercooked, yet VERY crispy at edges. Next time I will cook at 325 for about 90 minutes. I may cut back a little on the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wauchula, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Great cake. Lovely and dense with a citrus tang. I served it with a lemon sauce. A big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDRONICKY

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
I'm giving this 5 stars because I know it's a good recipe! It's baking right now....but, you might want to add 1/2 teaspoon of salt and 1 teaspoon of vanilla, it really enhances the flavor. NOTE, this makes A LOT of batter! - I mean A LOT!!! I had the entire bunt cake pan full along with a small loaf pan. If you use a decorative cake pan like the one shown in the pict, you might need all that batter. If you are using a basic bunt/round cake pan, you might want to customize the recipe to 12 servings. That being said, I plan to place the small loaf in the freezer for a later date - so no problem!! something to look forward to later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chardon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Troy, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Thank you for this wonderful recipe. Made it exactly as called for and it was perfect! Sweetpea
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States