Blueberry Lemon Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
This was incredibly easy to make. I sifted all the dry ingredients together then added the wet all at once. I just mixed until moistened, didn't overmix. I did add 1 tbsp. of lemon juice to the milk to make it like buttermilk and I had to add a little more milk as the batter was a bit dry. I liked this, it's like something you'd buy at Starbucks to go with your coffee. If I made this again, I'd add a little vanilla and double the glaze. This is a very eye-pleasing loaf. Bakes up beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
This was a big hit at Church, I had coffee hour and made all breads. I followed the recipe exactly. Good lemon flavor along with the blueberries. Wonderful!! This will be a permanent in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I would only recommend that if this bread is not going to be eaten within a day or so, not putting the lemon glaze on top; it seemed to make the bread top a bit soggy. Over all though, an absolutely fabulous bread, wonderful flavor and I enjoy sharing it with everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
This is wonderful--we loved the tangy combo of fresh lemon and blueberries, and using sour cream makes it very moist. It also freezes well--I made 2 loaves, one to eat right away, one to freeze. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Had a huge bag of lemons and bags of frozen blueberries to use up. Made the Lemon Blueberry Bread from this site on Sunday and loved it. But, got curious to compare this recipe and I made it on Monday. Yummy...my new favorite lemon blueberry combination!! The extra blueberries and the sour cream makes this so moist. I like a more pronounced lemon flavor, so used 3 T of lemon juice and 2 T of lemon zest in the batter instead of whatever was produced by 1 lemon. Drizzling with lemon glaze is going to make this a perfect summer dessert...I can't wait to try it in a bundt pan this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lkatano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterey Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
This loaf is moist, tangy, and fresh tasting. The ingredient list is typical pantry fair, and the preparation is both quick and easy. The resulting loaf is both aesthetically pleasing and quite appetizing. The fact that this recipe uses a mere 1/2 a stick of butter is a definite plus. I will be making this over and over again, and enjoying it each and every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Josey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Rockland, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Just wanted to say - if you want a strong lemon flavour, zest the WHOLE lemon. That wasn't totally clear in the instructions. Use a medium sized lemon. TABLESPOON
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
This was great - nice flavor. I made a double batch, with one set of muffins and one loaf. The cupcakes took about 30 min to bake. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
The glaze is the most important part of this.. I usually make it without blueberries as my family is not a fan; but fantastic loaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washago, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Freedom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
Very Good, Moist, sliced well, needed to add 10 minutes to baking time for a glass loaf pan. Would double icing next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States