Blueberry Lemon Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I added extra lemon juice to the batter. Next time I think I would add a bit of lemon extract. I kept this loaf in the fridge for well over a week. I did not find it to be soggy at all but stayed nice and moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing this recipe. This is a gem. I have been making it over and over again. Only thing I changed is quantity of the lemons- I used 2 instead of 1, juice and all. My family loves strong lemony taste of it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Dang, I crack myself up. I made a mistake and had written down 1/2 C of sour cream instead of 1/4 C - DOH! Well, my muffins still turned out great! (I opted to do muffins instead and got 12). Used Buttermilk in leiu of milk. This recipe isn't overly sweet which I prefer. I did make more of the lemon glaze but added a tsp of white sugar and boiled it so it would be more of a heavy syrup. I also generously brushed that on about 5 minutes before they were ready to pull out of the oven. Made a nice shiny (slightly tacky) tart glaze. Due to my error they were also quite moist but not gunky. A bit too heavy on blueberries for myself (didn't flour them either) so I'll go with 1 C next time. I may try same batter with chopped fresh cherries and some walnuts. Oh yeah, I used 3 T lemon juice in the batter but could have used 4 (I love lemon). My muffins took 45 minutes to bake but I know it's because of that extra sour cream. Great recipe, even when you kinda screw up! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
This is my favorite quick-bread. I used the powdered lemon zest from Penzys. What a delicious combination! And it freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMWILSON98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dixon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
After reading the reviews, I decided to make this without the glaze. Some people say the glaze is what makes the loaf so good, but I was concerned that it would get soggy since there were only two of us eating it and it needed to last awhile. Even without the glaze, it was quite good. I did add extra lemon juice, just tasting a small amount of the batter and adding more lemon juice until I could really taste a strong lemon flavor. If you opt to make it without the glaze, consider adding a little more sugar if you want a really sweet loaf. Without the glaze, it's good but not particularly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LompocCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Batavia, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I really enjoyed this cake/loaf. As I'm from Australia I'm not used to such sweet things being called a bread and eating this for breakfast? It seems like a dessert or something sweet to have with coffee which I guess explains breakfast ;-) I didn't add the topping but put the zest of 2 lemons in the cake. The step to roll the blueberries in the flour worked well. I also used 1 cup of all purpose and 2/3 cup of wholemeal. My cake was moist and had a good lemon flavour. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Just great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beverlyann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
My whole family loved this recipe. I did use buttermilk in place of regular milk, but only because I had stockpiles of butter milk leftover from the holidays. It was still a success. Very moist and the perfect mixture of blueberry to lemon. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I used lime instead of lemon and it turned out even better. The 2nd time I made it I left the zest out of the drizzle and enjoyed the texture more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Where have you been all my life? I've tried so many others - only to be left unsatisfied! ThIS is the taste I have been seeking! So I made two! The second one I added some lemon rind to the batter and used some fresh blueberries (wow)! Then I made a thicker more icing-type drizzle to put on top of it all! My kids and husband claimed them as "imperfect" and therefore "must be eaten immediately to protect moms reputation" - so, neither had time to cool completely and both are gone! I got one small piece of each........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States