Blueberry Lemon Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
This is my favorite quick-bread. I used the powdered lemon zest from Penzys. What a delicious combination! And it freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMWILSON98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dixon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
After reading the reviews, I decided to make this without the glaze. Some people say the glaze is what makes the loaf so good, but I was concerned that it would get soggy since there were only two of us eating it and it needed to last awhile. Even without the glaze, it was quite good. I did add extra lemon juice, just tasting a small amount of the batter and adding more lemon juice until I could really taste a strong lemon flavor. If you opt to make it without the glaze, consider adding a little more sugar if you want a really sweet loaf. Without the glaze, it's good but not particularly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LompocCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Batavia, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I really enjoyed this cake/loaf. As I'm from Australia I'm not used to such sweet things being called a bread and eating this for breakfast? It seems like a dessert or something sweet to have with coffee which I guess explains breakfast ;-) I didn't add the topping but put the zest of 2 lemons in the cake. The step to roll the blueberries in the flour worked well. I also used 1 cup of all purpose and 2/3 cup of wholemeal. My cake was moist and had a good lemon flavour. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Just great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beverlyann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
My whole family loved this recipe. I did use buttermilk in place of regular milk, but only because I had stockpiles of butter milk leftover from the holidays. It was still a success. Very moist and the perfect mixture of blueberry to lemon. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I used lime instead of lemon and it turned out even better. The 2nd time I made it I left the zest out of the drizzle and enjoyed the texture more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Where have you been all my life? I've tried so many others - only to be left unsatisfied! ThIS is the taste I have been seeking! So I made two! The second one I added some lemon rind to the batter and used some fresh blueberries (wow)! Then I made a thicker more icing-type drizzle to put on top of it all! My kids and husband claimed them as "imperfect" and therefore "must be eaten immediately to protect moms reputation" - so, neither had time to cool completely and both are gone! I got one small piece of each........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Yummy bread! I got confused by the directions for the topping and added the entire amount of lemon zest and juice in the bread. I didn't add the topping because I used all my lemon juice in the bread by accident. It didn't matter because it still tastes good. This bread didn't rise and it is a little dense. I think since it doesn't rise much it would be better baked in an 8 x 4 inch loaf pan to make it taller. Its a good recipe but may need a little something to make it fluffier for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Just about the best sweet bread recipe I have ever tasted. Arlene Butler
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Very moist bread. Not too sweet. I used fresh berries from my blueberry bush! So good. I would probably double or triple the glaze/icing next time and use a tad more lemon zest in the bread itself. Very nice flavor, I just prefer a little more kick from the lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KKCOBB

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States