Blueberry-Lemon Crumb Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
The crust was so crumbly, even though I doubled the amount of egg. I even doubled the sugar and used brown sugar instead for more flavor, and it was only passable. Also, the crumb topping would have in no way held together if I had added the original amount of flour. Not making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
This recipe is pretty good, my only suggestion is to make it in a smaller pan. I found the crust to be very thin, as well as the filling, otherwise, it's really yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
Just delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
The Zing of lemon cookie nicely offsets the blueberry filling. Not overly sweet but very delicious. As previous posters have mentioned, the cookie base can be difficult to work with, but I recommend saving the lemon juice from the zested lemon and add as needed if the mix is too dry. **Holiday Update**I won the cookie contest at work with a modified version of this recipe using fresh cranberries and orange zest. Double the sugar you add to the berries since cranberries are so tart. Also added extra juice from the orange and orange extract to the cookie base
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Placerville, California, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
Tried to make 1/2 the recipe and was not successful. I had an overdone bottom crust BUT the top half was SO delicious! I'll just have to make it right next time because it is a superb recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrystalGayle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Giordana
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
I liked this recipe, and so did my family. I added an extra egg, though, because the crust didn't hold together as well as I wanted it to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Giordana
Living In: Cobble Hill, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
These bars were just OK. I probably will not make them again, however I took them to a picnic and most everyone else seemed to think they were good. Not enough flavor in the crust and crumb topping for my husband and I. I did add pecans to the topping - those tasted good - a little toasted from baking. Just not our thing, I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T. Kielsmeier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Prentice, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
This recipe turned out good - it just wasn't gooey enough for my taste. My sister couldn't stop eating it thought! If you like bars with a shortbread-type crust, this recipe is for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
I found this quite easy to assemble, a lot easier than making a pie IMO. I cut the recipe in half, so a pint of blueberries was perfect for an 8x8 pan. Cuz I wanted to really taste the lemon, I added lemon juice (along with a dusting of flour) to the berries and some more zest in the topping. Only problem is the oven temp and/or bake time -- my crust was done at 10 min at 400, so I lowered the oven temp to 350 to finish the baking and the bars were done in 15 (would have burned at 20-25 min at 400). Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
These turned out pretty good. I made the crust in my Kitchen Aid mixer and it never really turned into a dough. I added 2.5 Tablespoons of ice cold water for it to form. I ended up baking mine for the full 25 minutes, and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerriheffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Pembroke, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States