Blueberry-Lemon Crumb Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Fa-reeking awesome. Tossed a little lemon juice in with the filling and made a thin lemon icing to drizzle over the bars (1 c. confectioners sugar, 1/4 c. softened butter, little salt, fresh lemon juice until it's thinned down enough). You do have to use a little muscle with the crust if you don't have a Kitchen Aid to get all the ingredients evenly mixed. This one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
These were absolutely delicious! I read another user's comment about using your hands to mix the crust together, and that worked really well. I can't wait to make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by youngcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I agree with the others, cook in a smaller dish, i used my biggest casserole dish. But what I did like about the thinner squares, you can eat more than one! loved the lemon crust, had to squeeze a bit of juice into the dough, to make the dough more wet. Tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keshia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
These were fantastic! I got so many compliments on these bars. I did add a bit more cinnamon and sugar to make it sweeter, because I like sweeter, but it was still amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
My family and I loved these bars! I used lemon juice b/c I didn't have a lemon to zest and added an extra cup of blueberries...took barely any time and effort to make them! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
These were not very good. sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lindale, Texas, USA
Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Yummy recipe! I did not find the dough at all difficult though it does require more liquid...another egg or lemon juice. I also added more zest than was called for and squeezed lemon juice over the blueberries. The lemon flavor was still very subtle though. Definitely use a much smaller pan also. Overall very good and I love the fact that they have fewer calories and less fat than many other bar recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
Bland. Boring. Waste of ingredients. Not very lemoney, not enough blueberries, not enough taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
I didn't think there were enough berries to cover the crust. The crust did not rise for me, it was really flat. Maybe it was because I had an old box of baking soda? I may try this again (not anytime soon)next time with a fresher box of soda, and more berries. I couldn't serve it to my guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
The crust turned out well. I added extra blueberries and they still barely covered the crust. I thought the dessert was kind of bland and needed a sauce or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States