Blueberry-Lemon Crumb Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Pretty tasty! I was concerned about the "cracker crust" some mentioned so I made this in a 7x11 glass pan and liked the way it turned out. I'm not a fan of nutmeg, though, so I think the next time I make this I'll either leave it out or perhaps substitute with cinnamon. Also - I personally thought they tasted better the next day. They were more of a crumb-cake dessert the first day, but there were a handful leftover and I stored them covered in tupperware overnight and they were moist and had a nicer consistency in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
These were absolutely delicious just after they cooled down a bit and were still slightly warm. They didn't taste so good the next day however and I was pretty disappointed. Something about the blueberries the next day seemed to turn more to taste like dates. Much better for serving immediately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Delicious, my only problem was that in a 9x13 pan the crust was stretched a little too thin, but as I'll definitely be making it again I'll make a little more next time. I also added a some lemon juice to the crust, as well as a few sqeezes of lemon juice and a little more zest to the filling. Using fresh blueberries was well worth the money it cost when I made these out of season! Perfect with coffee and when I brought them to work they disappeared before my eyes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Good, but not memorable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by benbest
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. The top half (cobbler - blueberry ) was just okay....a little sweet. The bottom "cookie" crust was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Wonderful recipe! I would not change it a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
These were great! I didn't add the lemon zest. I added lemon juice but I still couldn't taste the lemon so I added lemon glaze. The glaze made them even better. I only cooked them on 375 and they still cooked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Pretty good bars. The blueberry and struesel parts were delicous. The crust was "eh." It didn't have much flavor and I think that 12 mins was too long in the oven. Would try this recipe again but with lemon juice or something in the crust and putting it in the oven for only about 10 mins. Nevertheless, the bars were a hit :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
The crumb topping is a very good crumble to use over fruit in coffee cakes. My family wasn't crazy about the bars though, because the crust was a little denser than what we like. It was a crispier, denser crust, versus a lighter cake-like crust that we would have preferred.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Pleasant, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
These bars are very tasty! The only thing I did differently was add the juice from half of a lemon along with a 1 tsp of cornstarch to filling. I used my hands to mix up the course crumbs before forming it into an 8x8 pan. The crust was done in 10 minutes at 400 degrees. I added the filling and baked the bars at 400 degrees for 20 minutes. The crumb topping was a nice golden brown color and evenly covered the bars. I could also see the blueberries bubbling with it's purple juices oozing out on the sides. I cooled the bars before tasting them. The lemon works beautifully with the fresh blueberries balancing out the tart with the sugar in the filling. This is not too sweet or too tart either-just right. The crumb topping has a nice sweet crunchy texture and works great with all of the blueberries. The crust is the perfect thickness just the way I like them. And I am glad I baked these in a 8x8 pan otherwise I would have ended up with thin crusts. The lemon zest adds a nice subtle lemon flavor to the crust as well. I cut these into 9 large bars and they were gone -just like that! Delicious and a great treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States