Blueberry-Lemon Crumb Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Fa-reeking awesome. Tossed a little lemon juice in with the filling and made a thin lemon icing to drizzle over the bars (1 c. confectioners sugar, 1/4 c. softened butter, little salt, fresh lemon juice until it's thinned down enough). You do have to use a little muscle with the crust if you don't have a Kitchen Aid to get all the ingredients evenly mixed. This one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2001
This is a good blueberry recipe. It took abit in making the crust, when forming the dough,you will have to use your hands to combine the ingredients. A utencil will not work. Very good taste, I would make these for a holiday. The two textures compliment each other.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
The Zing of lemon cookie nicely offsets the blueberry filling. Not overly sweet but very delicious. As previous posters have mentioned, the cookie base can be difficult to work with, but I recommend saving the lemon juice from the zested lemon and add as needed if the mix is too dry. **Holiday Update**I won the cookie contest at work with a modified version of this recipe using fresh cranberries and orange zest. Double the sugar you add to the berries since cranberries are so tart. Also added extra juice from the orange and orange extract to the cookie base
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Placerville, California, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2004
Used 1/8 tsp of nutmeg and 1/4 tsp cinnamon. Should have only baked the min. amount of time. Used fresh blueberries. Added an extra 2 Tbl. flour for topping due to very high humidity day. That really helped get the correct texture. Family enjoyed it with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2002
Yummy! I was in the mood for a pie or something blueberry - this satisfied both cravings. I used a bag of frozen blueberry instead of fresh ones. My husband and 3-year-old loved it, too. We all had some for breakfast the next morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
I found this quite easy to assemble, a lot easier than making a pie IMO. I cut the recipe in half, so a pint of blueberries was perfect for an 8x8 pan. Cuz I wanted to really taste the lemon, I added lemon juice (along with a dusting of flour) to the berries and some more zest in the topping. Only problem is the oven temp and/or bake time -- my crust was done at 10 min at 400, so I lowered the oven temp to 350 to finish the baking and the bars were done in 15 (would have burned at 20-25 min at 400). Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
These bars are very tasty! The only thing I did differently was add the juice from half of a lemon along with a 1 tsp of cornstarch to filling. I used my hands to mix up the course crumbs before forming it into an 8x8 pan. The crust was done in 10 minutes at 400 degrees. I added the filling and baked the bars at 400 degrees for 20 minutes. The crumb topping was a nice golden brown color and evenly covered the bars. I could also see the blueberries bubbling with it's purple juices oozing out on the sides. I cooled the bars before tasting them. The lemon works beautifully with the fresh blueberries balancing out the tart with the sugar in the filling. This is not too sweet or too tart either-just right. The crumb topping has a nice sweet crunchy texture and works great with all of the blueberries. The crust is the perfect thickness just the way I like them. And I am glad I baked these in a 8x8 pan otherwise I would have ended up with thin crusts. The lemon zest adds a nice subtle lemon flavor to the crust as well. I cut these into 9 large bars and they were gone -just like that! Delicious and a great treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Good with some extra lemon zest in with the berries based on reviews, I also added an extra cup of (frozen) blueberries and some lemon juice to the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
This recipe is pretty good, my only suggestion is to make it in a smaller pan. I found the crust to be very thin, as well as the filling, otherwise, it's really yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2003
My husband, parents and friends all loved these bars. I thought that they were very sweet and rich. You definatly need to work the dough with your hands. I used 1/2 nutmeg and 1/2 cinnomon for the spice. It is important to let these cool completly before slicing or they crumble (it was hard to wait!). I will make these again for afternoon tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States