Blueberry Lemon Breakfast Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Excellent! This was my first time trying quinoa for breakfast. It sounded interesting and I had all the ingredients. What a fabulous meal! I will make this over and over again and try different fruits too. My kids were a little skeptical, but they ended up asking for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whoshungry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LilSnoo
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I am the recipe submitter and wanted to clarify the directions. Allrecipes omitted a step when they edited my recipe and they suggested I clarify by leaving a comment here. Make sure to COVER the pot when you simmer the quinoa, otherwise the liquid will evaporate too quickly. Keep an eye on the pot because milk does have a tendency to boil over. After 20 minutes, there should still be some liquid left in the pot, so you have an oatmeal consistency. You do not want to cook all the liquid out of the quinoa. Thank you and enjoy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
This was really good! It was fresh yet rich- tasting, and the sweetness from the blueberries and syrup was perfect! Topped with toasted, slivered almonds instead of flax seed. A great new way to have quinoa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
This was pretty good! I think it would be better with pre-rinsed quinoa. I can never fully get rid of the bitter taste of the quinoa I bought un-rinsed. But this is definitely worth trying, especially if you are trying to healthify your diet. Oh, and I didn't add the lemon zest and it was just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Kimball

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
I thought this was awesome. I didn't have some of the ingredients, so I used blackberries and chia seed instead of blueberries and flax seed. Bueno. Also, I used almond milk instead of regular, and that worked great. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
I had quinoa already made, so just added almond milk to it. I reduced the maple a bit to limit the sugar content. I loved the lemon flavor. Will definitely make this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
I think it could have used more lemon, and more blueberries are always good. Also, next time rinse the quinoa for longer!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
This is THE BEST recipe EVER! My son is GF,egg-free, milk-free, and I am forever looking for nutritious breakfast for him. I did make alterations due to restrictions: almond milk for milk, sugar for maple syrup, and skipped the flax seeds. If you make it my way, it tastes JUST like Froot Loops. Major bonus for a 10 year old boy! He's eating it for breakfast and lunch and snack...need I say more? Oh, to address comment about bitter taste: yes, rinse it well. And then toast it in pan with butter for 3-4 minutes, stirring constantly, before adding water. (It totally changes flavor of quinoa. Without, all I taste is corn husks - bleh.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roozoonoomom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Awesome!! Tasted amazing! Instead of fresh zested lemon I used 1/2 tsp of lemon peel in a jar (that's all I had). Turned out great. I would recommend cooking it a little longer than 20 minutes at such a low heat. Also, my girlfriend doesn't like Quinoa, but she loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
I loved this recipe! I used almond milk instead of regular milk and didn't add flax seed as I had none. I also was without lemons so I used lemon juice and added a little orange zest. This recipe made for a great breakfast! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Hot Breakfast Cereal

A delicious and healthy hot cereal with 8 gluten-free whole grains and seeds.

Perfect Breakfast

Eggs, avocado, and cheese make a deliciously simple toasted breakfast sandwich.

Country Sunday Breakfast Casserole

A hearty potato, sausage, and egg casserole that's perfect for Sunday brunch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States