Blueberry French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
This is an excellent recipe that always is received well. I've been making this for the past several years. The trick to keep the mixture moist - when you first cover the casserole, push down on mixture to ensure that egg mixture comes up and covers the top layer of bread. This should eliminate the dryness that some readers experienced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Broomall, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lewes, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Very blah. I've made several of these types of dishes and this tasted like bread and cream cheese - because that's all it is. Would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Tonight we had breakfast for dinner; I've made this before and prefer it not so soft so I let it set in the fridge for about 4 hours then baked. I halved this recipe and it's enough for the four of us along with my other sides (potatoes and sausage). I added a tsp. of vanilla to the egg mixture and a tsp. of lemon juice to the berry sauce as suggested. I forgot the maple syrup. Used a package of frozen mixed berries which I simmered until hot but left them whole for presentation! :) Almost forgot to mention that I used leftover rolls (Costco)...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by Becky S.
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This is amazing!!! I wasn't even a fan of french toast but this is yum-tastic. Everyone asked for the recipe. One lady I brought some to rolled her eyes back into her head and did a dance after her first bite. I added the 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon to the egg mixture and 1/4 cup of powdered sugar to the cream cheese. For the topping I didn't add butter but I did add 1/2 teaspoon of lemon juice which really makes the sauce have some zing and kept it from tasting too sugary. My husband adores this. I can't imagine anyone not liking this. This is french toast elevated to an art form. hehe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky S.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I make this every year for Christmas breakfast. I scale back the eggs to 8 and I use texas toast instead of Italian bread. I take the toast and make little sandwiches with the cream cheese and then cut on the diagonal to serve. I also add cinnamon to the egg mixture and then add even more just before baking. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
AMAZINGLY PERFECT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hobart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I have made this recipe before, but I use cinnamon bread instead of Italian. I don't let this sit in the fridge overnight anymore, because the bread becomes too soggy and won't bake thoroughly in the middle and the edges will end up overdone. Try this sometime with cinnamon bread and don't let it sit overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I have been making this for several years now. My family really likes it! I add a extra syrup, blueberries, vanilla, and I double the cream cheese. I melt the cream cheese, put it into a ziplock bag, cut the end of and squeeze it over the whole thing to get an even layer! It turns out great every time. I also usually make a double batch of the sauce because we go through so much and I can alway use it later! Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Wyatt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Great recipe. Have made many times for Church Receptions between services..Usually bake in our commercial Convection ovens, really puffs up nice. Double the recipe to fit in a large foil pans for large group. Easy to cut and serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIG DAVE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Westminster, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
If this tasted as good as it looked, I would give it a 5 star review. Unfortunately once we ate it, we were unimpressed. It was certainly edible, but we would rather just eat plain french toast from a box compared to this. If I had to make it again, I would: 1) Watch the baking time as I think 60 minutes is a bit too long. We didn't care for the crispy parts. 2) I would leave it covered for the whole bake time to avoid the crunchiness. I'm surprised we didn't like based on the good score overall, but my recommendation would be to keep searching for the ultimate recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Mascarpone Stuffed French Toast with Peaches

Elegant stuffed French toast is served with a delectable peach sauce.

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States