Blueberry French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
This was so delish! I halved the french toast recipe though and left the syrup amount the same (I love syrup, but do not need a huge batch of toast for only two of us). Also.... I tweaked it by mixing powdered sugar in with the cream cheese (and a little wee bit of shredded mozzarella cheese. It sounds weird I know, but it makes it just a little melty when it's hot and adds a little savory element). I also followed the cinnamon recommendation and glad I did! Wonderful dinner recipe also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parrish, Florida, USA
Living In: Kaukauna, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
Hard to tell when this was done. I really liked it but I am not sure how my family felt about it. No one really said anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsPestana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by DanaLane
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
This was really great! I cut everything in half (and used blackberries because that's what I had) and baked in an 8X8 for the 30 and 30... perfect! Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DanaLane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Made as directed and this thing needed a little oomph. I also did not like the unappealing color. Might try again with other's suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Sooo good! I changed a few things to make this a little healthier. I used egg substitute to lower the cholesterol #'s, I used whole wheat bread, and put lots of cinnamon (very high in antioxidants) all over the bread mixture, and I used more than the recommended amount of blue berries. In the sauce I only used about 1/3 cup sugar and I think that made the fresh blueberry flavoe really come through. I recently read that blueberries are the healthiest things on the planet to eat. So I'll make this again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
I've been making this recipe for many years. Guests absolutely love it! Simple sandwich white bread works just as well and the sauce freezes great so you can make it ahead and just microwave it for a minute or two before serving. Micky M
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
This is an excellent recipe that always is received well. I've been making this for the past several years. The trick to keep the mixture moist - when you first cover the casserole, push down on mixture to ensure that egg mixture comes up and covers the top layer of bread. This should eliminate the dryness that some readers experienced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Broomall, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lewes, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Very blah. I've made several of these types of dishes and this tasted like bread and cream cheese - because that's all it is. Would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci's Kitchen
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Tonight we had breakfast for dinner; I've made this before and prefer it not so soft so I let it set in the fridge for about 4 hours then baked. I halved this recipe and it's enough for the four of us along with my other sides (potatoes and sausage). I added a tsp. of vanilla to the egg mixture and a tsp. of lemon juice to the berry sauce as suggested. I forgot the maple syrup. Used a package of frozen mixed berries which I simmered until hot but left them whole for presentation! :) Almost forgot to mention that I used leftover rolls (Costco)...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Photo by Becky S.
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This is amazing!!! I wasn't even a fan of french toast but this is yum-tastic. Everyone asked for the recipe. One lady I brought some to rolled her eyes back into her head and did a dance after her first bite. I added the 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon to the egg mixture and 1/4 cup of powdered sugar to the cream cheese. For the topping I didn't add butter but I did add 1/2 teaspoon of lemon juice which really makes the sauce have some zing and kept it from tasting too sugary. My husband adores this. I can't imagine anyone not liking this. This is french toast elevated to an art form. hehe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky S.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Mascarpone Stuffed French Toast with Peaches

Elegant stuffed French toast is served with a delectable peach sauce.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States