Blueberry French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
I sprinkled cinnamon over each layer. So yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
Have to be honest here, I didn't actually taste this myself. Served for Sunday brunch and didn't get to try it, it was all gone! I never even made the sauce, just the casserole part, and it was a big hit. Followed the recipe exact and everyone loved it, thanks for this awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by vickytoriyah
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
This recipe was a hit in my home on Christmas morning! I did a few things differently: less eggs, splash of vanilla extract, about a teaspoon of pumpkin spice, and lastly, before I put it in the oven I stirred it all up again. The egg mixture over night had pooled in the bottom, causing the top layer of bread to be very dry. I felt stirring it before baking was key. P.S. The blueberry sauce is HEAVEN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Windermere, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I have made this 3 times thus far. The first time "as is". No changes to the recipe. It was good, but a little on the sweet side and no enough fruit. The second time I made it, I doubled the blueberries in the french toast, and left out the maple syrup. The third time I "healthified" used sprouted grain bread, half egg white/half whole eggs, 4 cups of berries, and a tub of low fat ricotta cheese. I liked the last one the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
This & overnight blueberry french toast are very,very similar.Very.I read a lot of reviews from each - so,yes,I made some changes.Those reviews are very helpful.I don't feel badly about changing a recipe when so many have a certain problem or suggestion that was successful.To m'point!:)I followed the suggestion of making cream cheese sandiwiches, egging,then turning them over before baking. Some said the tops were dry.No problem with that after "the flip":D 'Used less eggs as suggested,too.(Actually,seven since my bread didn't fill the pan.I'd go for nine next time.)I added a little vanilla.A little melted butter would've been nice,too.Heyyy,maybe spread some melted butter on the top piece of bread before pouring the egg mixture over?!?That'd be nice,I think.I forgot the syrup,but I'd think baking syrup for an hour wouldn't necessarily be a good thing -&probably go to the bottom of the dish.'May add some mapeleine next try.The berries in with the toast didn't do much for taste except look pretty.The sauce I didn't make,but I'm sure it'd be good.I've made blueberry sauce before with pancakes.Yum.Oh,for the cream cheese,I put 2T sugar&an egg in with it.I'm not sure about the egg.I think half an egg would be better.It wasn't as creamy as I would've liked (but I got over it quickly :D).Grease the pan extra well -&you'll probably still have to soak.All n all,good,but not as good as regular timeconsuming french toast;but that won't stop trying this or other similar recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Cut the eggs to 8 like some reviews said and mine turned out rather dry, but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gillian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Combined half and half with milk to give it richer flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Made two pans of this recipe for a company breakfast club. RAVE reviews from my co-workers, many asking for the recipe. After reading the reviews, I too, added cinnamon and nutmeg to the egg mixture and a bit of lemon juice to the blueberry sauce. I also put small pats of butter on top of the product and sprinkled with sugar just before putting it in the oven. Will be making this for my family over the holidays as well. They will LOVE it! Two thumbs up on this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by afshankhan
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I have tried this recipe.it was Ok not extra ordinary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Instead of using cream cheese I used Greek yogurt along with substituting the milk with almond milk. It got great review with the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Mascarpone Stuffed French Toast with Peaches

Elegant stuffed French toast is served with a delectable peach sauce.

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States