Blueberry French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Sam84jo
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
This was good it was just missing the "WOW" I was looking for. I was kicking myself when I took this to work and ate a piece and realized I forgot to add the lemon juice like another reviewer suggested. I really think that could have made a HUGE difference. I used 3/4 of a loaf of bread and 9 eggs and scaled everything else down accordingly. Next time I will definitely use less eggs mixture. I also added cinnamon and I am very glad I did. I may bake again, but definitely with some more tweeking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam84jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
This was absolutely delicious! I had soooo many compliments... huge hit! Just because I had some, I added some white chocolate liquor to the egg custard batter which gave it an even sweeter and creamier taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny5252

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
EXCELLENT! Good for lots of people or scale down for two. I used the Hawaiian bread that comes in the orange bag at the grocery store, and only 3/4 of the loaf was needed (otherwise would have been too dry. I altered as follws: 11 eggs, adding 1 tbsp vanilla to batter, used 3/4c sugar in the sauce (with the listed proportions), and sprinkled both bread layers with cinnamon. Next time, I'll DOUBLE the sauce, you can use extra easily, and keep it for leftovers as well. Great with mimosas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
Amazing good!! I've made this a handful of times & everyone loves it! I use 10 eggs and add 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon to the milk mixture. And I make 1 1/2 recipe of the blueberry sauce. Perfect! Thanks for this wonderful recipe, it's now a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bbqgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
I was in a pinch and needed to substitute the cream cheese with Ricotta. Hopefully the guests didnt mind the gritty texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazyboymom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia Heights, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Anoka, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Just okay. Needs tweaking, I thought this would be sort of like a blueberry danish french toast but it wasn't anything even close. We all prefer the french toast bake from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
This is a great combination of flavors and textures. I used whole grain bread and 6 whole eggs and 6 egg whites. Sprinkled with cinnamon sugar. This is healthy and delicious. Kids and adults will love this combination as we did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Liberty, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Oh my word! This is so good. It's reasonably easy to prepare, and very impressive. The blueberry sauce adds just the right touch, although the kids preferred it with regular maple syrup. We enjoyed this for our Christmas morning brunch and I will definitely make it a staple for our future Christmas brunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tara
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
This was pretty good.I cut the eggs down to 7 and only used 1 1/2 cups cream (instead of the milk) added in 1 tsp cinnamon,1/2 tsp apple pie spice.The middle still was a bit soggy but it's getting better the more i play with this recipe.I will add in more spices next time and maybe scale back to 1 cup milk/cream to see if i can get the soggyness not to be in this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tomah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
yumm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by garden variety elf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: District Heights, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Mascarpone Stuffed French Toast with Peaches

Elegant stuffed French toast is served with a delectable peach sauce.

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States