Blueberry French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 24, 2010
I made this recipe for a company breakfast at work and received rave reviews. I even had requests for the recipe. I also make a strawberry version which was equally delicious. I did, although, increase the amount of blueberries to two cups. Other than that, made it exactly as it stated. Kudos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Rogers, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
Mine didn't come out right at all. I followed directions and used 1 loaf Italian bread and cubed it. Used all 12 eggs, even though some reviews said they used less. I didn't have enough egg batter for my bread and figured it would soak into bread overnight. It did not. My top layer was pretty dry. When I baked it, it needed more time because it didn't set up in the amount of time indicated. We decided not to make the blueberry topping, and instead used real maple syrup - which was way too sweet! My husband and I did like the cream cheese with the blueberries, and I may make again and tweak it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
This was very good but a little soggy! I love the blueberry sauce!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
Awesome! So good and very easy. I did only use 8 eggs cuz these things were HUGE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlondeJJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winfield, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
**** review for sauce only**** I intend on making this whole recipe... But for valentines breakfast it would have been too much food without scaling down... so... I made my usual french toast and made the blueberry sauce/syrup to go with it.... My husband fell in love!!! Have plenty left over and he either wants to put it on ice cream or use for blueberry short cake.. As others reviewed if you intend to make ahead, that this made with this amount of cornstarch will really thicken as it cools.. might curb cornstarch, but for me, I'm gonna reheat and thin out...*** Small change only*** I added a dash of vanilla...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiser1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I made this using homemade bread, following an earlier recommendation of adding 1 tsp. each vanilla and cinnamon, using 9 jumbo eggs. Incredible flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Wonderful! The only thing I changed is a little less cream cheese and cut up small or grate the cream cheese. A must try. I was asked for the recipe at church so I know others like it too!!! I think the bad ratings are due to people not making it right! That is the only explination!!! Thanks for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Very tasty and easy to make. Be sure to use the Italian Bread...regular white bread makes it too mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Krol Rothfuss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Webster, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I followed others advice and used two cups of blueberries in the sauce and the french toast. The only issue I had was that the cream cheese stayed chunky and did not seem distributed well. Next time I will try beating the cream cheese into the milk and syrup and pouring it over the bread. We are also going to try it with apple, peach and strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I have made the original and it was very good - however, if you want EASY and AWESOME, read on. First of all, you can make this the morning you serve it - it does not need to be made the night before. I let it sit on my counter 20 or so minutes before baking to let it soak in. Only 8 eggs are needed, mix in 1 tsp. vanilla and 1 tsp. cinnamon in the egg mix. I also use 1-2 cups of blueberries sprinkled with 1/3 cup sugar in the center and omit the sauce entirely. Serve drizzled with maple syrup and it makes this breakfast even quicker. What makes this French toast perfect is using challah bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer C.
Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Mascarpone Stuffed French Toast with Peaches

Elegant stuffed French toast is served with a delectable peach sauce.

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States