Blueberry French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
This was horrible! Would NOT make again. Not correct amounts of ingredients. Big globby mess :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
Made this as a part of a larger breakfast of maple syrup brushed baked bacon, fried potatoes with onions, and scrambled eggs. Made only 1/2 a recipe in a 8x8 casserole and it was more then enough for a group of six to have a serving with two servings remaining. Everyone raved and thought it was delicious!! However, the cream cheese didn't melt through out the casserole as well as I would have hoped. While my sister-in-law said she liked not getting a bite of cream cheesd in each bite, I think I like the suggestion of whipping the cream cheese with some powdered sugar and spreading it on. I believe it may give the dish a more consistent flavor. We were on vacation in a rental condo while making this recipe and I didn't think to buy powdered sugar, but will try that suggestion the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patty41

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
I can't believe how simply good this is! I chose this version because it uses only 8 oz. of cream cheese, which turned out to be perfect when cut into 1/2" cubes as MinnGal suggested. I left a few 1" cubes on one end, but when you're eating it, they end up being cut in half with your fork anyway. I think leaving the cream cheese in chunks is key to the beauty and taste of this dish. Soft creamy white bites contrast with bright blueberries and crisp bread cubes on top. I used sugar free maple syrup, and the bread cubes seemed to really pick up a yummy concentrated maple flavor. I served hot blueberry syrup on our first two servings at breakfast, and then drizzled the rest over the leftovers to refrigerate. It was like a cheesecake topping, and good cold also. We ended up eating this for breakfast & dinner the second day and lunch (I'm talking main dish) the third day. My husband already wants more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
This dish was well recieved, by all the sweet lovers. I used more fruit & less creamed cheese & still found it too rich, with not a lot of flavor. The sauce was needed to kick up the flavor & I used extra berries here too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Yummy..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
This was phenomenal! Everybody loved it at my church group. I made some of the suggested changes (lemon juice in sauce, cinnamon in mixture with bread), and I will have to make this again. SO delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
This was just ok for me, however, DH thought it was great, thus, the 4 stars. I will make again if he requests it. Thanks for the idea though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
I like this recipe a lot! Others that I have served this to haven't always been as crazy about it though. The sauce is great for pancakes and waffles. I have made the sauce on its own many times and I absolutely love it. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Based on others suggestions, I added cinnamon, and vanilla. Still very tasteless. The top was hard, the bottom was too soft. We each had a piece and threw the rest out. Will never make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Very time consuming without much return. Recipe was ok....nothing special. I will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Mascarpone Stuffed French Toast with Peaches

Elegant stuffed French toast is served with a delectable peach sauce.

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States