Blueberry French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
This was delicious! I made it for 6 servings instead of 12. I used french bread instead because that is what I had and my daughter thought it was a bit "eggy" so I will cut back the eggs by 2. I also used soymilk instead of cows milk because of an allergy, and it was fantastic! Lower in carbs too. Wonderful with bacon and sugar free syrup. I will make it many times. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
Overall we liked this. Here's how we made it: I didn't use the whole loaf (used a little more than 3/4 of it), dicing cream cheese is impossible so I sliced it off & used my fingers to squeeze little pieces off (about 1/2 teaspoon size), I used 2 cups of blueberries (frozen & rinsed to thaw), I sprinkled cinnamon over the top layer of bread, added vanilla to the egg mix, and squished the bread down into it after it was poured over the top. This is not like the kind of french toast you make on a skillet, it is more of an egg breakfast casserole. Next time I would decrease the amount of eggs (9?) and increase the maple syrup. I would sprinkle cinnamon over the cream cheese layer (the cream cheese is rather flavor-less), or even better would be cinnamon/sugar. We did not make the blueberry syrup (too much sugar for us). I actually think this is better when reheated the next day (flavors have a chance to blend more), and with a small amount of maple syrup on top. It made about 8 servings for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
I cut the white sugar in half and that made this a little less sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2005
I was very disappointed with the way this recipe turned out. I would reduce the quantity of eggs to 4 and add 1/2 cup of sugar to the mixture. There was too much cream cheese and it did not contribute anything to the flavor. Use a good hearty bread such as a challah and sprinkle cinnamon sugar over it before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
This is sooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell, California, USA
Living In: Pleasant View, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2005
This was DELICIOUS as a light supper with a sausage patty on the side. I divided this recipe down to make 3 servings. Used homemade white bread and frozen, rinsed blueberries (that's all that I had on hand). For my 3 servings, I did use 3-1/2 oz. of cream cheese, 2/3 cup blueberries, and 1/4 cup chopped pecans in the refrigerated mixture. (Spread the cheese over all the slices of bread before cutting them into cubes.) For the sauce I increased the blueberries to 1/2 cup and added the juice of 1/2 a lemon. Only had time to chill this for about 2 hours. Baked it in an 8-1/2 x 4-1/2 inch glass loaf pan. VERY YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
I was very disappointed in this recipe. I followed it except for adding cinnamon, vanilla and walnuts for added flavor as recommended. It was still very bland and dry on the top. A 1 lb. loaf of italian bread is way too much! Blueberry sauce was good but that was about it. Sorry, but I would not recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2005
I do not recommend this recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
Love it! I was looking forward to trying this and was disappointed when I realized that it was supposed to be made the day before. I prepared and baked itanyway and it was great. I used frozen blueberries. I will use fewer eggs next time and more blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2005
My family raved about this recipe, which I served for a Christmas brunch. I substituted cranberries for the blueberries. The tartness counter-balanced the sweetness nicely, was less expensive than blueberries, plus looked more Christmas-y. Thank you for this new family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Mascarpone Stuffed French Toast with Peaches

Elegant stuffed French toast is served with a delectable peach sauce.

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States