Blueberry French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
This recipe has become a tradition at our Christmas breakfast. Very easy to prepare with little time required in the kitchen on Christmas morning. I freeze blueberries in the summer to make this extra special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
Very rich and tasty. I took the next reviewer's suggestion to cut the cream cheese up small and I'd do that again. I think something a little less "dessert-like" is what I was hoping for. But the recipe itself was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
I cut back the eggs in this to 9 and added vanilla and cinnamon as well. Also, the cream cheese is better cut into very small bits as the 1 inch cubes are too rich. I used mixed berries as I had no blueberries. It's great for large family breakfasts like Christmas when you don't want to spend too much time in the kitchen and it's a real crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
To facilitate easier serving, I slice the bread into 12 slices, then make six "sandwiches" with cream cheese on each slice of bread and a small handful of blueberries. I cut cut each sandwich in half, then fit the halves in a 9 x 13 pan. In the morning, I flip over each sandwich so the soggier side is on top and the drier side is on the bottom before baking. This ensures 12 clearly defined portions, easy serving and eating, and even distribution of the egg and milk mixture. I bring this whenever I need a brunch dish for work or other gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
I made this today as a test run for a breakfast I am having later in the week. I was incredibly disappointed with the results. I read other reviews carefully, added cinnamon and vanilla and still found the french toast to be bland and tasteless. My blueberries were quite tart, but it did not seem that the proportions were at all "on".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
This was good. 1 note: When spreading the cream cheese make them real small pieces and disperse well. I used the black raspberry syrup leftover from the raspberry dumpling recipe on the site. Nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
I was really excited to make this- I love cream cheese and blueberries. There are deinately way too many eggs- I think they could be cut down to 8 or 9. Also, the chunks of cream cheese don't melt enough during baking. Next time I will soften the cream cheese and add the blueberries, then spoon the mixture over the first layer of bread. The blueberry sauce is fantastic- double it because it goes fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
I followed the recommendations and they are essential, it was great with less eggs, 1 tsp cinnamon, bit of lemon and less sugar. I also used Neuchatel instead of cream cheese and it was great with that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
This recipe is fabulous. It was so easy to assembly and I can easily see it becoming a family favorite. The taste was just right, not to sweet. One thing we changed was increasing the blueberries in the sauce to 2 cups verses one. This seemed to be about right I think with one cup only it might be a little too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Mascarpone Stuffed French Toast with Peaches

Elegant stuffed French toast is served with a delectable peach sauce.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States