Blueberry French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
i wasn't overwhelmed by this recipe, although my family was. except my mother. and who can ever please them anyway? if i did make it again, i would make the bread squares smaller and toss them with the egg mixture, to ensure a thorough coating. i will use my own mixed berry syrup recipe next time too. more syrup-y.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TrixieJones

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by daveycooks
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
First time with baked french toast. This was a little dry. Nice change though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daveycooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I made this actually with 16 oz of cream cheese... i put down 1 layer of bread first, then small chunks of the cheese, then another layer and another few chunks of cheese. i did use all 12 eggs and by using a crustier day old french bread it was just the perfect amount of egg. i also used frozen triple berries because I had them for both the sauce and casserole. I used an immersion blender to blend the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stinabina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mundelein, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
great recipe! used "french toast bread", available at safeway, which has cinnamon etc. baked in it and a 6 oz. tub of whipped light cream cheese, making sandwiches before cutting into squares. (use a pizza cutter to speed this up) also used frozen blueberries, only 8 eggs and fat free 1/2 and 1/2 instead of milk. used splenda in the sauce and it was amazing, will keep this on hand in the fridge for other uses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buckley, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
This recipe has become a tradition at our Christmas breakfast. Very easy to prepare with little time required in the kitchen on Christmas morning. I freeze blueberries in the summer to make this extra special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
Very rich and tasty. I took the next reviewer's suggestion to cut the cream cheese up small and I'd do that again. I think something a little less "dessert-like" is what I was hoping for. But the recipe itself was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
I cut back the eggs in this to 9 and added vanilla and cinnamon as well. Also, the cream cheese is better cut into very small bits as the 1 inch cubes are too rich. I used mixed berries as I had no blueberries. It's great for large family breakfasts like Christmas when you don't want to spend too much time in the kitchen and it's a real crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
To facilitate easier serving, I slice the bread into 12 slices, then make six "sandwiches" with cream cheese on each slice of bread and a small handful of blueberries. I cut cut each sandwich in half, then fit the halves in a 9 x 13 pan. In the morning, I flip over each sandwich so the soggier side is on top and the drier side is on the bottom before baking. This ensures 12 clearly defined portions, easy serving and eating, and even distribution of the egg and milk mixture. I bring this whenever I need a brunch dish for work or other gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
I made this today as a test run for a breakfast I am having later in the week. I was incredibly disappointed with the results. I read other reviews carefully, added cinnamon and vanilla and still found the french toast to be bland and tasteless. My blueberries were quite tart, but it did not seem that the proportions were at all "on".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Mascarpone Stuffed French Toast with Peaches

Elegant stuffed French toast is served with a delectable peach sauce.

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States