Blueberry French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
This was a really great recipe, but I defintely agree with some of the other reviews to omit a few eggs. I used 9 and next time I make this I will probably use 8 instead. The cinnamon is a MUST! Since quite a few people said it was a little bland and the sweetness came from the sauce, I added sugar with the cinnamon on the first and second layer of bread crumbs. I also cut back on the cream cheese using only 8 oz and added vanilla and extra maple syrup to the egg mixture. It was awesome when all was said and done, but like I said, next time I would still cut back on the eggs even more. I made this last night for christmas breakfast this morning and it was a hit. 12 servings was more like servings this morning so do be scared to double up the recipe if cooking for more than 12.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
I made this for Christmas brunch and it was fantastic!!! Very delicious. Easy to make and one word ...GONE!!! Will make again fer sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MNM6467

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheelersburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Panasoffkee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
After reading several reviews that said this didnt bake well, I decided to change this up a bit. I made regular french toast with a loaf of sliced bread. I made the blueberry sauce as directed but cut it down to 1/2 cup of sugar. Then I nuked the cream cheese to room temp (and to soften). I spread the cream cheese on each slice of already cooked french toast, then topped with the blueberry sauce. It was still a bit sweet, but the family loved it! An fyi, one loaf of bread was plenty for a family of 6 to have two pieces each plus seconds for 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lyndhurst, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
This turned out ok. I didn't use as much cream cheese as the recipe suggested and I think that was my mistake. I also cut the eggs down to 8 and left my bread in slices. Will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
This was crunchy/hard on the outside and soggy in the middle.. just got worse the more I cooked it. Not edible. I'll be sticking to the traditional way of making french toast from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
I was profoundly disappointed with this recipe after reading all of the wonderful reviews. I followed it precisely as written and it was bland at best. The only redeeming factor was the blueberry sauce which was too sweet...and we love sugar at our house. I would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
I brought this to the Christmas breakfast at our church and it was a hit! I cut my cream cheese in very small pieces and sprinkled some cinnamon on after each layer of bread. I read several reviews that said what to change, but honestly there's nothing I would do differently!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wilco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
i wasn't overwhelmed by this recipe, although my family was. except my mother. and who can ever please them anyway? if i did make it again, i would make the bread squares smaller and toss them with the egg mixture, to ensure a thorough coating. i will use my own mixed berry syrup recipe next time too. more syrup-y.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TrixieJones

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by daveycooks
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
First time with baked french toast. This was a little dry. Nice change though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daveycooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I made this actually with 16 oz of cream cheese... i put down 1 layer of bread first, then small chunks of the cheese, then another layer and another few chunks of cheese. i did use all 12 eggs and by using a crustier day old french bread it was just the perfect amount of egg. i also used frozen triple berries because I had them for both the sauce and casserole. I used an immersion blender to blend the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stinabina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mundelein, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Mascarpone Stuffed French Toast with Peaches

Elegant stuffed French toast is served with a delectable peach sauce.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States