Blueberry Flax Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
These were really good! Instead of using a boxed pancake mix from the store I used the homemade pancake mix recipe from this site. I followed the recipe as stated and did use frozen berries. I put flax in many different bread and muffin recipes I make from allrecipes, and now pancakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
My husband and I loved these. I used a multigrain pancake mix by Bob's Red Mill. The batter was really thick, I added more liquid, plus it thickened even more while standing (flax will do that!). It was more like biscuit or muffin batter. But I used the recommended measure and spread it out in the pan. I used a little lower heat to account for the thickness. Although thick and clunky looking, they were moist and light to eat. I cooked some frozen blueberries with spenda for a compote topping that was light in calories. Fiber, Omega-3, Antioxidants...and flavor. What more do you want for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
I followed another user's advice and used Bob's Red Mill multigrain pancake mix. However, instead of using milk I used lowfat buttermilk and subbed egg replacement for the eggs. This is even more exceptional with the addition of chopped pecans or walnuts and a blueberry compote (a couple handfuls of blueberries and enough sugar to lightly coat, simmered over medium heat until most of the berries burst and emit their juices).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
By separating the eggs and adding the beaten egg whites at the end, I was able to make these as Belgian waffles. My husband loved them. I just found a new Sunday brunch, and a healthy one at that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wadena, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
My kids looked at the pancakes and asked what was wrong with them. But, I threw in a few chocolate chips and they were a hit--even w/ my picky one. I used Bob's Red MIll 10 grain pancake mix and the same brand in flaxseed meal. They tasted very good and are very good for you (as healthy as a pancake can be). I will be making these in place of our usual pancake recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CINDYBANA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Harper Woods, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I made a double batch of this. I used my own homemade whole wheat pancake mix, lowfat buttermilk, organic eggs and last summer's frozen blueberries. These came out fluffy and we just loved them! This recipe was just perfect for me to make a healthy, filling breakfast for my boys today and freeze a couple meals worth for busy mornings I won't have time to make a hot meal. NOTE: For those who are like me and want to freeze additional for later breakfasts, just stick them in ziplock bags and for easy warm up, stick them in the toaster!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
These were good and definitely not what I was expecting for something that was packed with so much fibrous goodness! The blueberries added flavor where I wasn’t expecting it, which was a pleasant surprise. I mixed some extra frozen blueberries and Splenda for a topping which added even more blueberry-ness, which we both loved. They were also very filling and easy to make. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I made these pancakes this morning with apples (no blueberries) but I can confidently give these 5 star as I know these will taste as good with blueberries. I love that they have flax in them...my kids gobbled these up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMARISA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton, Vermont, USA
Living In: Wantage Township, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
I used a egg substitute which made the batter a little watery so I added an extra tablespoon of pancake mix. I also dropped a couple blueberries on each pancake while on the griddle. They came out great! I boiled some extra blueberries with a little sugar and I served the pancakes drizzled with the blueberry "syrup". Excellent and good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
These were pretty good. I used a "only add water" mix, so was nervous about adding the egg and milk. Instead, I added the amount of liquid the milk and eggs would have made (about 1 1/2 cups). They were a little flat, though, so I am going to try it with the milk and eggs next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

How to Make Blueberry Pancakes

There’s a better way to make blueberry pancakes. See how it's done!

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States