Blueberry Flax Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
Great taste! I used Bisquik mix. Will make allll the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
My husband and I loved these. I used a multigrain pancake mix by Bob's Red Mill. The batter was really thick, I added more liquid, plus it thickened even more while standing (flax will do that!). It was more like biscuit or muffin batter. But I used the recommended measure and spread it out in the pan. I used a little lower heat to account for the thickness. Although thick and clunky looking, they were moist and light to eat. I cooked some frozen blueberries with spenda for a compote topping that was light in calories. Fiber, Omega-3, Antioxidants...and flavor. What more do you want for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
These were wonderful. I found the batter to be thin, but as the pancakes cooked, they really thickened nicely and were not dense. I would definatly make sure the skillet is hot enough before cooking because the first batch I made got a little burnt before the inside was done and my last batch was perfect. My kids loved these. I love the fact that my family was eating healthy and they didn't even know it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MIDOW
Reviewed: May 10, 2006
Didn't have flax meal so I used seeds. Not so good. Let then stand for 10 minutes or so before starting to cook them and they come out fluffier. Used maple pecan butter to top with; yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Powell River, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
These were pretty good. I used a "only add water" mix, so was nervous about adding the egg and milk. Instead, I added the amount of liquid the milk and eggs would have made (about 1 1/2 cups). They were a little flat, though, so I am going to try it with the milk and eggs next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
My kids LOVED these! My son usually hates the taste of flax, but he adores these pancakes. I didn't have pancake mix, so I got a pancake recipe and used the flour, oil, etc. from that. And I used whole wheat flour. Thanks for giving me an awesome way to use my flax seeds!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
I used this recipe in conjunction with the "Homemade Pancake Mix" (also available on this site). I, too, found the batter a bit thick, but that was easily remedied with a bit more milk. I'm guessing it was b/c the mix had whole wheat flour and required more moisture. I made these plain and with mixed frozen berries, and both were very yummy. Oh, I also threw in about 2 T of whole flax seeds for texture. Very good, our new staple for pancake breakfasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
By separating the eggs and adding the beaten egg whites at the end, I was able to make these as Belgian waffles. My husband loved them. I just found a new Sunday brunch, and a healthy one at that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wadena, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
Mmmm....delicious and so easy to make! This is going in my recipe box. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
These were yummy and very filling pancakes. I used the "Homemade Pancake Mix" recipe and left out the blueberries. Easy to make and perfect for a Sunday breakfast :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chalfont, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Blue Bell, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

How to Make Blueberry Pancakes

There’s a better way to make blueberry pancakes. See how it's done!

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States