Blueberry Dump Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
If you use lemon cake mix and chopped almonds on top of that, it's wonderful. Lemon and blueberry is always a great combo. It just sends this dump cake over the top!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookyldy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Benton Harbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I made this for a party without trying first. Would never make again, waste of great blueberries. I really love dump cake, but this was just a goopy mess. Nobody would even take any home. Sorry, hate to give bad reviews, it really sounded good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shasta Lake, California, USA
Living In: Zanesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
Great recipe! I added crushed canned pineapple to my bluberries and omitted the cinnamon. Since we have diabetics in the family, I used Splenda in place of sugar and a low sugar cake mix and served with S/F vanilla ice cream. It was a hit and I'm definitely making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greeneville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I loved this! My friends and family did too. So simple. I followed previous reviews and placed thin slices of butter over the mix. A little more time, but I prefer that the "crust" be more uniform.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
Delicious just as it is written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess of her Castle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly and yup ended up with a dry mealy flat substance, that tasted sort of like cake, but was missing all the delicious softnes of traditional cake. It was wayyy to sweet as well and though the ice cream did manage to make ti tolerable I would have peferred to just have the ice cream alone. Sad waste of delicous blueberries and a hour of my life. Joel
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
This was a good recipe! I didn't melt the butter first and I had to increase the amount because it was still dry in spots. I put a few more pats of butter on top and stuck the cake back in the oven for a few more minutes. It was very popular at our church potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
I also sliced the butter and laid it on top of the cake mix rather than melting it and it came out great! Great reviews and so simple. I would definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
I tried to replicate the best blueberry dump cake I've ever had, which I had a work function, and this came pretty close. I used frozen blueberries which I thawed in a strainer in the sink first, because the store was out of fresh ones for some odd reason. I also used a can of crushed pineapple on the bottom with the blueberries since the blueberry dump cake I have had always had crushed pineapple. I used butter recipe cake mix. I also used about 1/4 cup of extra butter to make sure it wasn't too dry. I melted some of the butter and poured it on top, and put the rest of the butter on top in chunks without melting to fill in the spots that were dry. It turned out just great and not too dry at all. The family ate the entire pan within an hour of it coming out of the oven! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsPari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
I make this all the time, howeve the recipe I used calls for 1/2 pound of butter, not 1/2 cup. Could be the reason it is so dry for some. But otherwise we live it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States