Blueberry Dump Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
I've made this recipe with cherry pie filling and crushed pineapples instead of blueberries and it's been amazing! I am excited to try with fresh/frozen blueberries rather than canned pie filling. I do agree with the other reviewers that it is best to cut the butter into thin slices and place on top of the cake mix to keep it from drying out. It's a huge favorite whenever I make it for an event or family get together. Instead of using 1 cup or 2 sticks of butter, I only used 1 and a half sticks, distributing the butter evenly on top of the cake and it still turned out well and makes it slightly less fattening, however this cake really doesn't have many redeeming qualities as far as health goes! But it is very delicious and so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
This is my go to recipe for dessert! I used lemon cake mix, and also cut the butter in pieces on the top so it wouldn't dry out. I used frozen blueberries and raspberries - super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dana
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
it was good, I had to add 1/4 more melted butter, it was a little dry and I had to let it cook a little longer but it turned out fine....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
30 years of baking this and taking it to events and always take several recipe cards along as I am always being asked for the recipe. Now my 3 adult children make this for their events as well. I now add 1 tsp. of cinnamon for a nice twist and the lemon cake mix is awesome as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
I have made this recipe 4 times in the last month because my family RAVES about it, but I do alter the recipe a little bit, I do use melted butter and cut it just a bit because as much as I LOVED the thinly sliced butter covering the top idea posted by another person, my dad is on a low cholesterol diet, So I add about 1/4 cup of light brown sugar sprinkled over top to add moisture and help it crisp up, and I sprinkle some of the cinnamon over the top also, cause WE LOVE cinnamon! I am always asked to make it every sunday night. HUGE HIT! THANKS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
The recipe does need to be altered. It isn't wonderful without making some changes. there isn't enough butter in it to cover the top. I followed it exactly and when it was done I had dry cake mix on top in so many areas. I added lots of drops of cold butter on top and put back in the oven for atleast 20 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Very good! Love a quick and easy recipe. I added more blueberries (about a cup or so extra) since I had them to use up. Increased the sugar just a bit to compensate for the extra berries, melted some butter (used a little more than called for, as well) and chopped some cold (worked to give both textures in the topping) and sprinkled cinnamon and sugar over the cake mix. I did need to bake longer, but that was probably because of the increase of berries, sugar and butter. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
What a tasty and EASY dessert to make. My picky picky hubby loves it and my equally picky son, who doesn't like blue berries really likes it too. I didn't have any ice cream so we topped it with Cool Whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Could this get any easier? Very delicious, especially warm out of the oven. As one reviewer suggested, I mixed the yellow cake mix and butter in my food processor and it turned out great. I also used about five cups of berries because that's what I had so I just threw them in and it was perfect. The topping wasn't browned at 30 minutes of bake time so I added another 10.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
I have made alot of dump cakes, I don't melt my butter, I slice it, not very big, it usually takes 1 1/2 sticks to cover the entire cake, then I cover with nuts. For the people who said the butter went through, and you like the cake, try it this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States