Blueberry Dump Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
This is the easiest dessert in the world. Always gets great reviews. I do the cake part differently. In a seperate bowl cut one stick of butter into the cake mix with pastry cutter until crubmly. Then sprinkle this mix over the fruit. Never a clumping or dry problem. Can also sub for fruit: one large can of pie filling (blueberry or cherry are our favs) mixed with one large undrained can crushed pineapple. DO NOT make in bundt pan as one person tried!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
I really enjoyed making this for a dinner party and everyone there enjoyed it. This is beyond simple and takes less than 10 minutes to prep. When I made it, I went with others' suggestions to slice the butter rather than melt and pour it. I would definitely recommend this to anyone--especially someone with little experience baking or who's just short on time. My only suggestions for this recipe are to cut the sugar or leave it out completely as cake mixes already have sugar in it. I understand the consistency of the blueberry juice, once cooked, will be runny, but an easier, "healthier" way to combat this, is to just use honey or stevia. Also, I doubled the amount of cinnamon and also added nutmeg. Served with lemon sorbet--great pairing! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
Very good - and easy. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
This cake was loved by my whole family and it was so easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
This is a great recipe. I added crushed pineapples with the blueberries (I added the pineapples as the first layer and then the blueberries) and omitted the c sugar. it was delicious. I gave the receipe to my mom and she loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
i tried to make this a little less bad for us by using angel food cake mix, i can't believe it's not butter, and half splenda/half sugar (1/4c each). it was really good but the mixing the berries w/sugar first is REALLY not necessary as there is so much sugar in the cake mix. it's really cobbler-y and really good. i didn't have ice cream so put cool whip on top. good with a big glass of milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
I adore this recipe! I have made it a hundred times and changed up the liquid on top and the fruit. To cut back on calories I use 1/2 cup of buttermilk instead of butter- I just tip the pan a few times to cover all the cake mix. I also add a sprinkle of sugar and cinnamon to the top before baking. If any spots aren't wet after tipping- just drop a pat of butter or a little more buttermilk or skim milk. This recipe equally as yummy with different berries or apples. I have had perfect results with buttermilk, half or half or skim milk in place of the butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guilderland, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I made this to serve with lunch after church on Sunday. I also used a full cup of melted butter like others suggested. It was a huge hit!! This was so easy to make. I'll definitely make it again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonita Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Ball, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Well I liked it. But if you put blueberry jelly , I would loveeeee it. I hope you try this you will love it. I love cooking. I am even coming out with a cook book... Colbert's Cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Acolbert1998

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
We enjoy this recipe! I've made it twice using some of the suggestions from other reviews. I used 1/2 the suggested amount of sugar. It is still very sweet & next time I will cut back further. I grated the butter & spread it on top of the cake mix. Just watch for dry spots during baking and put a little pat of butter on them if there are any. I served this with whipped cream. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 244) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States