Blueberry Dump Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Excellent and easy!! I used a stick and a half of butter, otherwise followed the recipe to a "t".....couldn't be easier, and it is really, really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
I used fresh picked blackberries and served for my elderly mother's birthday party with only seven guests. There was only one small piece left and everyone ate French vanilla ice cream with it (no one is a huge eater either!). Obviously everyone enjoyed and complimented me. Definitely a keeper recipe and so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
This was a great dump cake! I used frozen, thawed blueberries, added juice from 1/2 a lemon and a few grates of fresh nutmeg to the blueberry mixture. Everything else was the same. Should have fed 8 but I had a group of hunters at our cabin and with seconds, I had nothing left! Fed 5 very hungry hunters! With ice cream, of course!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer63

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I followed everyone's suggestions and added 1/4 cup sugar but in spite of that, the final product was honestly 'sickeningly sweet'. My daughters generally love any baked item but it was not good even for them. The taste of the yellow cake mix was the problem. I used a Duncan Hines product but I have no idea how it ended up so sickly. I hate to give it 1 star. In my daughter's words - no point eating empty calories if we don't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I believe this recipe definitely has possibilities, but as a number of other reviewers have suggested, it absolutely needs another approach with the butter on top of the cake mix. I used 12 oz. fresh blueberries and two large fresh peach--hence peach and berry dump cake. When I make it again I will add some lemon juice and reduce the sugar to 1/4 cup as 1/2 cup made it entirely too sweet. Even though I spotted the cold butter on top of the cake mix, it still had spots where it was just dry cake mix. Perhaps the buttermilk is a possibility or even cutting in the butter with a pastry blender. Will let you know when I make it again. Served it with whipped topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Burlington, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
YUMMERS! I sliced the butter length wise and laid across the top-fantastic!!!! I used dark canned cherries-drained and a 9x9 pan. The top is soooo good and the smaller pan made a nice thick topping,that wasn't dry at all. (lightly sprinkled a little sugar a cross cherries,didn't measure)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Billadeau

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Sorry, did not like this recipe. I found it too sweet. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
It was way too sweet with the sugar coating the blueberries. The butter did not cover the cake mix so there was uncooked mix on the top. I had to add 20 minutes to the overall cooking time to get a brown topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
You can't make a bundt cake out of this! I have used this for many desserts, and it NOT a cake. It is more a fruit crisp. It does work very well in a dutch oven over charcoal. We have used it with cherry pie filling, apple pie filling, pears(with spice cake), all sorts of berries, mixed or not. Blueberries are always a favorite. I have also seen it made with a bottle of Sprite or 7-up over the cake. I do like the 1 cup butter, however, but then I like butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Great basic recipe for a dump cake! I used 2 cups of organic peeled, boiled pears (cut in approx. 1" cubes) & 2 cups of chopped fresh strawberries combined with blueberries & raspberries; so 4 cups total fruit, as per the recipe. I increased the sugar to about 3/4 cup to get a more syrupy consistency, kept the cinnamon the same (1 tsp). After baking 30 minutes, it didn't seem done enough & had dry spots here & there, so I melted an additional 1/4 cup of butter & baked it for 10 more minutes. It came out so beautifully and was delicious! My 26 yr old daughter has requested this instead of cake in the future. I had to write this after reading a negative review from a woman who claimed to have followed the recipe "to the letter" & gotten a bad result. If you're a cook, a recipe is a guideline, not a Commandment. Any good cook knows to use their judgement & experience to make a recipe their own. This is the first Dump Cake I've ever made, but it won't be the last & this basic recipe will be used many more times. *I used Betty Crocker Super Moist yellow cake mix, "with pudding in the mix"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 244) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States