Blueberry Drop Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by kateinthekitchen
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
These cookies were dubbed "Blueberry Bombers" by friends and family (because they're the bomb). I did make a few changes to the recipe: 1/4 cup shortening (butter flavored if you have it) 1/4 cup butter 5 Tbsp of lemon yogurt (instead of milk) 6 oz (half package) of white chocolate chips 1 tsp vanilla extract (instead of almond) I made 5 dozen of these for a party and they were GONE in half an hour! huge hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
I've had this recipe saved for awhile but was always nervous about trying a blueberry cookie. These were great though and I will be making them again for sure. I agree with some other reviews I read that they taste like the top of a blueberry muffin. I did have some trouble with the dough being too sticky and the blueberries mushed into the dough and gave the cookies kind of a grey look. Next time I will be more careful when stirring in my blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erhard, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
These cookies are absolutely amazing!!! The first batch I made lasted oh...1 day and then my family was begging me to make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
Delicious! Had trouble keeping myself from eating all of the cookie dough before I even baked them. I personally love lemon so added the juice from half a lemon along with the zest from the entire lemon. Substituted vanilla for the almond extract (didn't have any almond) and used half and half instead of milk (didn't realize we were out and so used the half and half as a surprisingly excellent alternative). The cookies are irresistible when warm as the hot, molten blueberries should be illegal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Although a yummy recipe and a great alternative for using some leftover blueberries, I don't agree with the muffin top comparision. The night of making them I actually wasn't overly impressed but the then next day they were so much better for some reason - I couldn't stop eating them! I took the advice of others and did half almond extract & half vanilla. My youngest didn't like them, I guess they felt they got cheated out of chocolate chips. Although my oldest would pick out blueberries and loved the cookie part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cherry Valley, California, USA
Living In: Belchertown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Measured 1/2 of ingredients left out salt added 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla extract- added small egg scooped out half of egg yellow 3/4 cups of blueberries and instead of shortening used I can't believe its not butter and instead of mixing all the sugar folded in some at end with the fresh blueberries so they would have a little sweetness themselves- did not chill just popped in oven until light golden brown peaks- Thanks for the idea! I use the silcone baking sheets so the little blueberry juice was not a problem and they were not soggy, even with a splash of lemon juice on top of the zest. OMG they were moist and wonderful like a blueberry cupcake. Thanks for the idea! Two of us ate a few each and sure will finish off the rest tomorrow. Oh I also use a ge counter oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
My husband loved these cookies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dreamer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: 100 Mile House, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
This is a nice change of texture on my Christmas cookie platter. They are light and cakey. To be perfectly honest, I don't make them with blueberries but rather with currants. My mother took her favorite cookie recipe to the grave with her unfortunately, and I've been trying to replicate it ever since. This one comes as close as I've gotten tho' Mom's were spongier. I'm sure these are wonderful with blueberries too. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy7905

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
Cooks Illustrated has a blueberry scone recipe that is a little tricky. This cookie recipe makes a cookie that is identical to the scones but a whole lot easier and, most importantly, more numerous!! They're delicious. I followed the recipe exactly, and before baking, I sprinkled a little turbinado sugar on the cookies for that crunchy top. I also sprinkled a little nutmeg on some of them which was very good, but the cookies were just as delicious without. I only made a few and put the rest of the dough back in the fridge so I can have fresh ones whenever necessary for the next few days!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieB123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States