Blueberry Crumb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
MISSBETHANY....you are my new best friend! Oh my, was this pie GOOOOOD! The only changes that I made was that I thawed my blueberries in a saucepan and added two extra tablespoons of flour, since the reviewers were saying it was a little runny. I made the crust using the Butter Flake Pie Crust recipe on this site....(which I highly recommend).This pie was picture perfect! The next time I make it, we will refrain from woofing it down until my shutterbug daughter takes a photo to submit! Thank you so much! Yummm-OOOO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
186 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
I just baked this recipe, and it's excellent. I made a few minor changes: no lemon juice or zest (I didn't have either). I added 1 tbs. of water instead. I added 2 tbs. of cornstarch to the mixture of dry ingredients for the filling. I think the consistency will be fine, once it cools. Since I had no lemon juice, I added a pinch of salt to the filling. Next time I'll probably try adding a little lemon juice , if I have some. I used 2 pints of fresh berries, which amounted to about 4 and 1/2 cups. This filled a deep pie plate. This is definitely a keeper. Not only is it excellent, it's easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amalie Hinson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
Great recipe! Its the one thing I can bake and it's delicious. I add 1 table spoon of cornstarch and cook for 60 minutes. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
Excellent recipe. If using frozen berries, thaw first and then drain off some juice. Add 2-3 T. cornstarch to flour/sugar mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
Made this for Thanksgiving, and based on the other reviews, I let the blueberries thaw and I added 1T of cornstarch. It was still runny and "tart" is what my fiance claims. I refrigerated the leftovers after thanksgiving, and he said it was much better that way. SO my suggestion is the best way to handle this pie is refrigerate it to firm it up some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Gartland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
A wonderful recipe. Gave a bbq for 15 and this, along with a blackberry pie also from this site, were the deserts. Both drew raves and requests for recipes. We have blueberry farms down the road so I used fresh berries. I deleted the pie base and just topped fruit with the crumble. The desert was rich and had a wonderful taste. Thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hobart, Tasmania, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
This recipe is DELICIOUS! I've made this pie twice in the last week, and the fam devours it. I used fresh blueberries and added about 1 tbsp cornstarch as others have recommended. It is a little loose, but the flavor is so amazing who really cares?? I also didn't have any lemon so I omitted it, but the flavor is so fresh and bright with fresh blueberries that I don't think it really needed it anyway. My new favorite pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4NonBlondes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, Oregon, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Georgia, USA
Photo by MarieM
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
My photo speaks for itself. Deeee-lish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarieM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Oyster Bay, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2006
This was a great start! I added cornstarch (but 3T was a bit too much) and my pie was VERY set, even using frozen (thawed) berries. I can't wait for blueberries to come back in season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canajoharie, New York, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by REDPONYGIRL
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
Superlative pie! I am putting this on my favorites list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REDPONYGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Catawissa, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Blueberry Pie

Make a delicious fresh blueberry pie, complete with lattice crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States