Blueberry Crumb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
This was the first time I'd used frozen blueberries for pies so I was nervous as I was taking them to a family dinner. On the advise of others I thawed the berries in a colander to remove some juice and added a tbsp of cornstarch to the sugar/flour mixture. It was perfect! Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
The recipe tasted great, but it was complete soup. I used frozen fresh blueberries. I let them thoroughly defrost to eliminate any extra moisture. I added a bit extra flour to the filling per suggestion, and I still ended up with blueberries floating in liquid with a crumb top. I don't think it will be a small fix, but when I figure out how to adequately thicken up the soup, it will be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Troy, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
Best pie ever. New favorite type of pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
This is the best blueberry pie I've ever had. I didn't add cornstarch; just let the frozen berries drain and poured off the juice. We ate it when it was still warm and it was fabulous! No more messing with double crust blueberry pies for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Thank you! Lemon really complimented blueberries! Will make again and again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beautifuldayinca

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Very good,I shrunk the recipe and made 2 little pies. I also added a little granny smith apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This is my first blueberry pie, I liked it and boyfriend loved it. I used 2T cornstarch and it was still a runny, will put in fridge a few hours next time. Suggest reducing the total sugar about 1/3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
I have been searching for just this recipe for years until it came to me again just 2 weeks ago and lo and behold, you can always rely on Allrecipes! I didn't need to change a thing although I will bake my pie crust for 10 minutes before, covering the rim with tinfoil the next time I make it as I found the crust was soggy from the blueberry juice (I used frozen berries). Magnifique!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Neff

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
I, too, used only 4 cups of blueberries instead of 6 (I thought the filling would be overflowing) and omitted the lemon juice entirely, using only the zest. I added 3 T. cornstarch to thicken. Lovely pie with great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
first time making blueberry pie! mine came out a bit runny. there was no way that i was going to get a pretty slice out of it. plated, it looked more like a crumble. delicious though! next time i'll add a tablespoon or two of cornstarch (depending on how plump my blueberries are) and omit the lemon juice. i think the zest adds enough lemon flavor. i think i may also cut it down to 4 cups of blueberries as i had about a cupful of filling that i couldn't cram into my pie crust. no worries though... i just took the extra filling, put it into ramekins with extra crumb topping and made individual blueberry crumbles! yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Blueberry Pie

Make a delicious fresh blueberry pie, complete with lattice crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States