Blueberry Crumb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
One of the best Blueberry Pies I have ever had. I used Lemon concentrate and it worked just as well as a lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
This was pretty nice, but the filling turned out pretty soupy for me. Most fruit pies do, probably because I live at a high elevation, so I probably can't blame the recipe for that. I made the pie exactly as written, using frozen blueberries (which I thawed in the fridge for a few hours), and I baked it for 45 minutes. Despite being a structural mess, the flavors were very nice - I was surprised to find that the lemon juice and zest made a noticeable and tasty difference. I might consider making this again, and hopefully I can implement some of the suggestions I see in other reviews, and wind up with a five-star experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
absolutely amazing. my family loved it. i did have to omit the lemon components, but i did see someone added in brandy in a review so i put a little in. still worked out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
I did try this recipe. I had only made four pie crusts for pie and wanted to get the most out of them. I crust on the top was a wonderful idea, I had all of the ingredients, and could make four pies to give away. It was sooooo good, and the people that got them raved about it. One man said that his grandmother made a pie very similar to that and it brought back memories for him. Great recipe and I am thankful for it. I don't usually try a recipe for the first time and give it to people. I usually try it first. I have never had an issue with Allrecipes and find they are spot on all of the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
So I had extra blueberries to use and thought I'd make a dessert. We're picky dessert eaters but this recipe looked good and I had a graham cracker crust lying around. The results - It was amazing!!! Every person wanted seconds and said it was one of the best desserts they had. It's a keeper, thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I was disappointed in the crumb topping. It was so hard I could hardly cut the pie! I will not be making this pie again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Made this recipe today for the first time and kept to the original recipe without any modifications. We have approx 2000 high-bush blueberry bushes on our property, so the berries used were about as fresh as you can get. I also used the French Pastry Pie Crust, also from this site, for the bottom crust (have been using this crust almost exclusively since I found it a couple years ago. Only regret was we were out of French vanilla ice cream which would have put this dessert over the top for us. Rave reviews from the family...will make again, but not without stocking up on the ice cream first ;) Thank you...this one's a keeper and will be added to our ever-growing blueberry recipe file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falmouth, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
Great recipe but a little too much sugar and definitely will add cornstarch next time. I will recommend only 1/2 c. white sugar in with the blueberries. The lemon juice is fine, but squeeze it over the top of the berries before they are placed in the flour/sugar. There is absolutely no way to mix it in after coating the berries. (Duh!) The lemon zest is totally unnecessary. I used frozen Dole Blueberries and they were great. Note to self: EVERY pie recipe in this world that calls for sugar ALSO needs salt, at least 1/2 teaspoon, whether the recipe calls for lemon juice or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
Tasted really good, but didn't set up. Needs cornstarch or some other thickening agent. LOVE the crumb topping though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
Delicious! I did cut the sugar mixed with the berries to ¼ cup and I thought it was perfect. Barely tart and avoided being overly sweet with the added topping. I served it cool and it had set up perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Blueberry Pie

Make a delicious fresh blueberry pie, complete with lattice crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States